1 Card for 2 Challenges

Stamp TV had a color challenge to use Turquoise Sea, Sweet Mango and Red Hot for a card.  You can see the challenge here.  CardMaker Magazine’s CardSwap had a challenge to make a gatefold card here.  So, I started thinking about what I could do to meet both of those challenges.

First I looked through my embossing templates to see what I thought would make a fun card using those colors, then I found my paper.  I used turquoise, some mango paper I had from Lasting Impressions, and some red shimmer paper.  The red is a bit darker than called for, but I really liked the shimmer.

Next I cut my red paper to 5-1/2″ by 8-1/2″ and scored it at 2-1/8″ and 6-3/8″.  Then I determined I wanted an 1/8″ border around the turquoise pieces, so I cut those to 5-1/4″ by 1-7/8″.  Then I used my Cuttlebug and embossed those pieces.

Next I dry embossed the hat (Lasting Impressions L9058) and heart (LI L9461).  Then I cut those pieces out and used a scuffer to bring out the white a bit.  I don’t really like adding any other colors to a color challenge, but figured the white was part of the mango paper and it isn’t much. These are my finished pieces.

After that, I used some double stick tape to adhere the turquoise pieces to the panels.  I put the hat on the heart with some Scotch mounting tape and added a piece of turquoise ribbon that I knotted a few times to the hat.  Then I attached the heart piece to one of the panels, not putting any adhesive on the other half so the card can be opened.  Here is my finished card.

Check out the challenges, as you still have time to participate in them!  Thanks for taking a look.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “1 Card for 2 Challenges”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

