Glitter, Glitter Everywhere

Okay, there isn’t glitter everywhere, but it does fly when being used.  I also rubbed my hands all over the dog when I was done to give her a bit of shine.

This card is a combination of two challenges.  The first one was a sketch challenge on the CardMaker Magazine Forum.  The second was a color challenge from StampTV.  I had fun figuring out what I wanted to do.  The card is for my uncle’s birthday, so it couldn’t have ribbon or flowers on it.

To make this card, I figured out what order I wanted to put the colors in, then cut out my pieces.  After I had all my brown and turquoise pieces cut, I tried something different and adhered the strips of brown to the strips of turquoise before running them through my Cuttlebug to emboss them.  It worked quite well as the embossing lines up perfectly without even trying.  It saved doing it twice, too.  I knew I wanted to layer my stamped image on turquoise, but wasn’t sure whether to stamp it in brown, or turquoise, so I did both and decided the brown looked much better.  I used a glue pen to cover the elephant in glue, then poured on the glitter and pressed down to make it stick.  After it dried for a few minutes, I flicked the back of the card to make sure all loose glitter was off, then blew on it to remove stray bits of glitter.  I had to use my finger to wipe away a few stubborn pieces.  I wound up with a fun, guy birthday card.

Thanks for sharing some of your time with me.  Please check out the challenges as anyone can enter, and they are quite fun.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

