Nestabilities, Pop Ups and Putting Things Together

Sometimes, when making a card, you have a great idea, but realize you don’t have what you need.  So, you figure out what you have to work with and come up with a modified idea.

Here’s a card I did at the end of December.

I started off using two “spring” colors that I thought went well together.  After making my base card, I knew I wanted to use my Spellbinders Nestibilities Labels 8 for the main focus.  I cut that out, then embossed the piece. 

As I wanted to make a pop-up card, I needed to make a “door”, so used Spellbinders Nestibilities Labels 1 for that.  These two label dies seem to go well together. 

To make the “door” I layered Cuttlebug Plate A, Plate B, my Labels 8 cut out paper, the Labels 1 die ridge side down, then Plate C.  Because I did not want to cut the entire Label 1, I pulled the Plate B – paper – die – Plate C slightly down so just the edge of the die was NOT over Plate A.  It took a bit of jockeying around to get everything lined up correctly.  When I was done, this is what I had (this piece is not embossed, but if you are going to emboss, it needs to be done before the partial cut is made). 

You can then fold back the door.  For my inside “pop out” piece, I used the Cuttlebug A2 Tag Team Butterfly die and embossing folders.  This is such a fun die and with the 4 different embossing folders it can be used in so many differing ways. 

Underneath the butterfly, I used small strips of the green paper and accordion folded them.  As I wanted the butterfly to look like it was flying out, the pieces on the top and left are a bit longer than the ones on the bottom and right.  To hold my door shut, I found a “latch” that I though went well with my design.

I made a couple of these cards: one with embossing, one without embossing, and held up different “latches” to see which I liked best.  I also tried the cards being wider rather than taller.  Taking a look at how things fit together with the pieces is quite helpful before putting it all together.

Thanks for taking the time to walk through this with me.  Please take the time to check out the “Beat the Blues” Card Crop that starts tomorrow morning 8am CST on the CardMaker Forum.  You do as many, or as few challenges as interest you, post a picture of your finished challenge and are entered into a drawing for that challenge.  Click on the link and check it out.  The crop runs Wednesday through Saturday and CardMaker Magazine is offering some fantastic prizes for each of the challenges, as well as a grand prize for one participant.  I hope to see you there!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

