Blue Suede Shoes with Flock

I am hosting one of the challenges in the CardMaker “Break Out of the Blues” crop.  My challenge is to be Elvis and give me some Blue Suede Shoes.  Use blue flock to make some shoes (any type of shoe is fine) look suede.

To start, I gathered supplies.  The pair of shoes is a clipart image I found online and printed out.  To get started, I put my image on a light table and used a blue pen to trace the image onto my cardstock.  If you don’t have a light table, you can use a glass table with a light underneath, or just tape the image to a window with the sun or a light behind.

Then I used a glue pen (mine was a Martha Stewart Fine Tip Glue Pen, but there are many different kinds and any will do) to fill in the areas I wanted the suede look on the shoes.  After I got the glue on the image, I covered the image with blue flock and pressed down with my finger to get it to stick fairly thickly.  I let it sit like that for about 15 minutes to make sure it was good and dry before dumping off the extra flock (I poured it on a sheet of folded paper so I could get the extra back in the container) and tapping the back to get off loose flock.

I used a glitter gel pen to color in the heels and give it a bit of sparkle.  That is also what I traced the image in.  Next I cut the image down to the size I wanted for my card.

While the glue was drying, I cut my background paper and embossed it with the Allegro Cuttlebug embossing folder.  The song was my theme, so I wanted to make it a bit musical.

After embossing, I used some blue ink and a dauber (you can use a small sponge) to lightly rub a bit of color over the background and make the music stand out.  As long as you rub lightly, it just highlights a bit.

Then I put it all together and came up with my finished card.  I was pretty happy with the way it turned out.

Please check out the crop and make a card with some Blue Suede Shoes for my challenge.  CardMaker is offering some fabulous prizes for each of the challenges!  You have plenty of time to play.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Blue Suede Shoes with Flock”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

