Cards Made at Crop

This is going back, but I’ve been busy recently and wanted to share the cards I made at the CardMaker Magazine/CardSwap February Crop.  We have a new crop coming up in May that will be tons of fun, so make sure you set some time aside!

This one was a challenge where we were given a recipe of items to use on a card and then we had to make a card from that recipe.  It was quite fun.  And, everyone’s card was quite different from the next.

This was a monochrome color challenge,using yellow.  I also followed the sketch challenge on StampTV and came up with my Sunshine card.  You can tell I embossed the triangles in the corner, then used Sakura glaze pens to bring out the yellow on some areas.  It was supposed to be monochrome, so only one color, but I didn’t notice the little white dots on the oval paper until the next day when I saw it in natural light.  It was still mostly yellow, and I liked it.

This one was a sketch challenge.  I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, but was fairly pleased with it.  The colors went together quite nicely and I tried some new things.

This one was a corner bookmark challenge.  I’m not too enthusiastic about the corner bookmarks, but my son had asked for a bookmark using this dragon image, so I figured it would work.  The way the corner bookmarks work, this can only be used on right hand pages, or just stuck in between the pages like a regular bookmark.  My son really likes it and got lots of nice comments from other students and teachers at school when he first took it.  I used Sakura glaze pens for all of the coloring, so it stands out quite nicely.  The red triangle is a shimmer sheet, so it sparkles nicely, too.

This challenge was to use lyrics from your favorite song and make a card.  As I couldn’t come up with a favorite song at the time, I asked my husband what his favorite song was and he came up with this one.  (Can you tell it was a rough week at work?)  I actually had a lot of fun making the card and figured it would work well for someone to give to their boss on retiring, or just for someone retiring in general.  Definitely NOT something you would want to give in anything other than humor!!!

The challenge on this one was to use something that had been printed for another use.  M husband came up with this idea for his mother’s birthday.  The magnifying glass has Glossy Accents so it shines.  Neither of us was totally impressed with the card, but we both figured it was the old woman figure that put us off.  Yes, we are still planning on giving it to my MIL for her next birthday.

This challenge was to make a card that would make someone laugh.  I loved the Penny Black stamp from the Bubbles set of the cat and mouse each taking a bath, so decided to go with the thought of giving a cat a bath.  From experience, I know it usually winds up with lots of scratches on the person, so I added some scratches to the woman going to do clean up afterwards.  Not sure how I’ll use this card, but thought it was funny.  Neither of my children, nor my husband, got it, but a lot of the ladies on the forum did.  (We aren’t a cat family.)

This challenge was to decorate something you love.  My children, husband and dogs didn’t want to be decorated, so I wound up decorating a candle I had made.  I’ve been burning it ever since (minus the decoration as that would be dangerous).  It is a coconut candle I made and actually looked better in person than in the picture as the colors don’t seem to go together too well in the picture.

I put my challenge for Friday about using blue flock up as a post, so I won’t repost that picture.

This challenge was to use a one inch square on a two-inch square on a card.  Inchies and Twinchies aren’t my favorite, but I actually liked how this one turned out.  The “J” is on the inchie which is at an angle on the twinchie with the other letters and an embossed dragonfly.  We also had to have an image on the card.  I used stickers rather than stamps for my letters, but they were all shades of purple.

One of our hosts absolutely loves butterflies, so her challenge was to use either a butterfly, bee, or bird (anything that flew) on a card.  I had a card kit from a swap of kits that we had done not too long ago that I used for most of this card.  It is always nice to have a few things that you wouldn’t normally have to use.

The challenge on this one was to make a wrapper for a candy bar.  My husband gave me a candy bar someone at work had given to him, so I had to wrap it up and give it back for a special occasion.  This was the weekend before Valentine’s Day, so he got an “Instant Vacation” for the holiday.

The last challenge I completed was one to decorate a container and make at least three encouraging sayings to go inside it.  Mine was fairly simple, but decorating the container was quite a bit of trouble.  I didn’t have any StazOn ink in black, and trying to cover a tin container with regular black ink just didn’t work well at all.  (That container wound up being recycled.)  I finally just made a black piece to cover the top and the edges went along with the teal, so I left them alone.  My husband really liked this one as he also got it for Valentine’s Day.  I did have to go back and round the corners on each of my pieces as my measuring was just slightly off when I made them.  I also trimmed the edges just a hair.

Whew, it was a busy weekend, but it was a LOT of fun!  We had several new players join in and they had quite a bit of fun, too.  There was only one challenge I didn’t complete and that was making a small picture album.  I’m not into picture albums, so figured it wasn’t something I would give away and didn’t need.  Also, it has been my goal the past several crops to not complete every challenge as the first few crops I participated in, I did WAY too many things.  Yes, I’m a bit OCD.  I think the biggest challenge is choosing which challenge NOT to participate in and then sticking to that.

Do join us for the next crop coming up in May.  It is easy enough to do whichever challenges you want and skip the others.  We also have plenty of time to complete the challenges as we have until the following Tuesday at midnight CST to post our creations.  All you have to do is take a picture and post it digitally to the challenge thread.  Please plan to join us!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

