Wedding Card in Chocolate

My favorite way to make a card is by thinking of the person I am making the card for and the occasion.  The card I made today is for the wedding of a girl who grew up with my daughter.  I asked her mother what the wedding colors were: chocolate-brown, tan and gold with sunflowers.  Many different ideas came to me, but as I looked through my papers, I found a bunch of brown and cream that were really quite nice.  The papers were 12×12, so the images are large for scrap booking.  I needed to only use part of the page for a card, so I had to determine which images would work for what I was looking for.  As I got started, these were my supplies:

I started off with the brown and cream patterned paper, a piece of cream cardstock for the actual card, a punch out that goes with the paper, some Memento Rich Cocoa ink and some gold ribbon.  I determined which direction I wanted the card to open and orientation, then determined I wanted to use the lower right corner of the patterned paper for my background.  I cut that piece, then smoothed the edges of my punch out and inked them.  I also cut a piece of the ribbon long enough, then determine how wide it should be to fit through the slots on the sentiment punch out and cut it width wise.  When I got the pieces together, I realized that I had forgotten the gold sunflowers that I had intended to use (that was my first idea).  So, I used some gold shimmer paper, dry embossed a sunflower and cut it out.  I wanted to use a brown button in the center, but looking through my buttons, found I didn’t have any that were the correct size.  So, I found two buttons I thought would both look good and had my daughter take a look.  She picked the one I used.  I took in all the pieces laid out so she would have an idea of how it was going to look.  I find it helpful to get another opinion when putting things together if I’m not absolutely positive about something from the way I lay it out to a piece on it, etc.

Now it was time to put everything together.  I slid the gold ribbon through the sentiment and determined that needed to be centered at the top.  Before I adhered it, I laid the sunflower at the bottom to make sure I had my placement correct.  I adhered the sentiment, then adhered the button to the sunflower with a glue dot.  Because of the look of the button, I determined not to tie anything through the button holes.

The finished card.  The colors, as well as the flower are all there and the leaves on the patterned paper look like they should be near a flower.  I’m sure she will enjoy the card.  I gave her a candle I had made as a present.  She is in the midst of the ceremony now and I’m sure she and her beau will have a wonderful life together.  That’s not to say there won’t be a lot of hard work involved.

Thanks for sharing this celebration with me!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

