CASE or Plagiarism

This morning, as I checked to see what the StampTV Free For All Friday challenge was, my son was sitting at the computer.  The challenge was to CASE a card of one of the Design Team Members.  As I explained to my son that CASEing was looking at a card someone else has done and either doing the same thing, or something quite similar, he said, “So you plagiarize it.”  Well, sort of.  It was interesting to try and explain to him that in card making magazines and on card sites, the reason they give you what the card was made with, was so you can try and do it yourself.  This led to a long discussion about the fact that yes, it is plagiarism, but it is allowed.

I’m one of those people that loves going to craft fairs and seeing what other people do and thinking, “Oh, I could do that.”  or, “It would be really cute if you did it with this and/or that changed.”  Sometimes I bought the items, so I could look at it closely, figure it out, then do it myself.  A lot of times I changed it up, but not always.  I don’t look at that as stealing someone’s idea, I see it as inspiration.  No, I don’t try and sell it or make a profit from it.  It is just inspiration for my own project, or a gift for someone else.

When I put my work up here, I hope someone else tries it.  I’m putting it out there for anyone to take a look at and try.  Here is the card I CASEd:

And my take on it:

What do you think, is it inspiration or plagiarism?

Thanks for spending a bit of your valuable time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “CASE or Plagiarism”

  1. It’s all about the inspiration, Golda, when it comes to technique and design. When it comes to original artwork like digital images or sentiments, I think the artist/author should be given credit if it is posted online.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

