Color Blending with Colored Pencils

I did some reading on using colored pencils and blending using odorless mineral spirits, so I had to try it.  First I had to go find some odorless mineral spirits, so I got that and tried it with the Crayola and Rose Art colored pencils I already had.  It turned out pretty good.

So, I did some research and came up with three different types of colored pencils that were supposed to be quite good and blend well.  Unfortunately, when I got to Michael’s with my handy-dandy coupon, they didn’t have any of them.  They did however, have these colored pencils from Koh-I-Noor, which is the same company that made one of the types I was looking for.

Okay, I did rearrange the order in the two trays so all the similar colors would be together.  They worked pretty good, and blended better than the other colored pencils.  I did add a bit of lighter and brighter color afterwards (see the two on the left) as it seemed a bit dark when I was done.  It will probably improve with practice.

Here are the two images side by side.  The attempt was to make them as similar in color as possible, so I could really see the difference.  Using the cheap pencils is the image on the left, using the new pencils is the image on the right.  Obviously I didn’t get the colors as close as hoped, but they are similar.  You can see that the one on the right blended a bit better, so I’ll keep working on coloring and blending with them and hope to improve.

Here are the two cards I made with the images.

Thanks for spending a bit of time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

3 thoughts on “Color Blending with Colored Pencils”

  1. This is great, Golda. I love all the embossing on your cards and the image is so cute. You did a good job on both. But tell me, where do I get odourless mineral spirits? Is mineral oil the same thing? I have Prism color pencils.
    Blessings,
    Teresa
    PS – I am running a contest on my blog for free digital scrapbook software. It starts tomorrow.

    Like

    1. I will definitely check out your contest. There are several different types of odorless mineral spirits, I found them with the turpentine in the artist paint section. The kind I got was Mona Lisa by Speedball, but there is Gamsol and a lot of other varieties. I don’t think mineral oil is the same thing, but I’m not sure. They are basically a paint thinner. It doesn’t say anything about blending on the bottle, but it works when you use it with blending stumps or tortillions (also in the artist paint section).

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

