Black Magic Coloring Technique

The Black Magic Technique is stamping on black or dark-colored card stock, then using colored pencils to color the image (on top of the white ink).  I chose to use brown card stock and a vintage image to make a masculine card.  The line image was probably not the best choice as using a chunky image would have given more area to color, but it worked.

Here are the supplies I started with:

I used Memento ink to stamp my background paper in Fall colors, then stamped the image onto brown card stock with white pigment ink.  After stamping using the white ink, you must wait for the ink to dry completely.

I tried stamping my sentiment onto the brown card stock using a light yellow ink, but it just didn’t show, so I used another piece of the light tan card stock and a reddish-brown ink for the sentiment.  After that, I used my Koh-i-Noor Woodless Colour Pencils to color the image.

And wound up with the following card:

This picture isn’t the clearest, but you get the idea.  Thanks for sharing a bit of your time with me today.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Black Magic Coloring Technique”

    1. You can find white pigment ink many places. The one from Stampin’ Up is supposed to be really good, but I just got the off brand at Michael’s (got to love those coupons that save so much, on already cheaper prices). Try the technique, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

