Layer Upon Layer of Paper

I made one card for both the Wednesday’s Sketch Challenge at CardMaker’s Cardswap and Friday’s Case Challenge at StampTV this week.  I rearranged a few things on the sketch and combined two of the cards for the case-able cards to get it to work, but I like the results.

First, I chose my papers, inks and images:

As I was using a boat, I wanted browns for the shore and blues for the water.

For the sketch, part of my inside had to be showing, so I trimmed off a bit of the front panel on the base card and stamped my sentiment along the inside.

I was trying to get it right along the bottom edge, but wound up a little high.  When the card is closed completely, the top of the E isn’t visible, but it wasn’t too bad, so I went with it.  Next time, I’ll have to get out my Stamp-a-ma-jig and get it lined up just right.  After that, I worked on the layers of card for my card front.  I went with darker blue for the deeper part of the lake and a lighter blue closer to the tan shore.  I embossed some waves in the darker blue, but chose to leave the lighter blue wave-less.  As the dark blue was my bottom layer, I didn’t trim the edge, but used a wavy punch for the top edge of the lighter blue and the top edge of the tan.

The most difficult part was lining up the layers to cover the entire front, without attaching them.  I used a bit of twine around the front.  Unfortunately, I forgot to stamp my shore plants before adding the twine, which made it more difficult.

For the image, I used an image from the Follow Your Dreams stamp set by Theresa Momber.  The shore plants came from the same set.  I stamped in brown as the boat is the main part of the image, then used colored pencils to color the image.  That gave me the opportunity to make the plants in the image green and the waves blue.

Here is the final project:

Take the time to try new things, as you may find a new favorite, or at least some fun new things.  Thanks for spending some of your time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

