Bags and Tags

One of the challenges on Card Maker’s Card Swap this week was to make a tag, or re-purpose a bag.  Well, I made a pouch with a tag to match.

I had an oddly sized magazine (got a subscription to Food Networks magazine for my father-in-law for his birthday) and I didn’t want to just put it in a gift bag, so I made a pouch.  First, I found some kraft wrapping paper that was pretty heavy, then measured it out and cut it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I folded the paper along the edges of the magazine.

After that, I folded up the sides and started taping them together using double sided tape.

As the paper had a bit of gloss to it, the tape didn’t stick as well as I had hoped and I wound up putting some regular tape over the edges to hold it together.  Then I folded the edges of the top part to make a flap.  When I figured out how large I wanted the flap, I folded it over and used double-sided tape to make it.

 

 

 

 

When I put the magazine back in, I smoothed everything out.  Then put my navy ribbon around the pouch and put my faux closure on.  To make my closure, I cut out two round pieces of brown card stock, attached those with 3D tape and wrapped some twine around them.

Then I made a tag to match using smaller brown circles.

After I put the “To” and “From” on it, it was ready to go.  My husband thought it was great, so I’m sure his father will like it.

Sorry the picture is a bit blurry.  That is what happens when it gets late and I lose my light.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Bags and Tags”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

