Different Mediums for Card Making

Someone recently said they no longer wanted cards sent to them as it damages trees.  So, I started thinking about different things to make cards out of.  First, if you think about paper itself, all paper doesn’t come from trees.  The definition of paper was “a thin sheet of cellulose pulp” (The American Heritage Dictionary).  There are linen, cotton, mulberry, hemp, bamboo, and all sorts of other types of papers, as well as recycled paper.  Looking into some of these, I found that paper from trees is actually more eco-friendly than some of the others that take so much to break them down to the fibers.  Recycled paper was even better than that.  There are also other mediums that can be used to make cards, such as foam, acrylic, plastic, vellum, material, felt, etc.  Some of these aren’t eco-friendly, but don’t come from trees, so they meet the requirements I was given.

For my first “paperless card”, I used a sheet of foam, which was quite easy to stamp on and adhere to.  I cut the foam to A2 card size, but figured it would have to be done like a postcard rather than trying to fold it.  Before I did anything else, I stamped an image on some Shrinky Dink, colored it a bit with permanent markers, cut it out, put a hole in it, then shrunk it according to the directions.  It did work a LOT faster than the directions indicated.  Then I stamped on the foam, put some twine on the ornament, adhered some ribbon and added a bow.  It was fairly easy to write on the back with a pen, too.

I know you can see yellow stamped underneath the top Happy Birthday, but in person you really can’t see it.

The next card I made was from fabric.  I cut out the material in A2 card size, then stitched around the edge.  After that, I ran it through the washer with the laundry to let the edges unravel a bit, then cut off the strings and ironed it flat.  Then I stamped on it.  The stamping turned out great.  However, when I used some markers to try and add a bit of color, the markers bled a bit.  It was also very difficult to write on the material, but that had to do with the weave of it.  Except for the color that bled, it was fairly easy and no trees were involved.  After I stamped on it, I sewed a piece of polyester lace across that I thought went well with the image.

The envelope for the first one was a clear plastic card bag that I put some Staz On ink onto with just the ink pad to give a darker area for the addresses.  I then used a glitter pen to write the addresses on top of that.  It was a bit difficult to read the address with the writing on the back of the card, so I cut a piece of old, solid color t-shirt and wrapped it around, which also cushioned the ornament on the front.  The stamp stuck to it fine.

The envelope for the second one was made from vellum (which is plasticized cotton) and was a bit sturdier.  It was easy enough to use a vellum pen to write the addresses on.  Even after the fabric card was inside the envelope, it seemed sturdy enough to go through the mail easily.

So, the only tree paper involved in either of these cards was in the stamps.  It was kind of fun trying to use different mediums to make cards.  I’m kind of looking forward to trying out some more things and seeing how they work.  Though, for the most part, I like using paper whether from trees, or other fibers, better.  A lot of that has to do with the fact that I like to dry emboss and that is much easier on paper.

Thanks for spending some time with me today.  Hopefully you got a few ideas about trying to use new mediums.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Different Mediums for Card Making”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

