Cleaning Out the Scraps

Sorry it has been so long since I’ve posted.  We got really busy at work and I wound up having to work more hours.  Between that and the holidays, I haven’t done much crafting and less picture-taking.  Anyway, as it is the end of 2011, hard to believe, I wanted to use up a bit of my scraps.  Well, I tend to keep even very small pieces and usually go through my pieces in the colors I am looking for, so this isn’t something new.

I decided to do a blue New Years card, so I pulled out my blue scraps box.

It took a bit to find some scraps that went together, but would also contrast.  Here is what I wound up with.

 

As I started looking at how to put them together, I decided to cut them into squares.  That way I could randomly cover my card with them and have lots of variety.  

The piece with the edge and the cut piece were in my blue scraps, though I cut the edged piece down a bit.  So, everything but the base card came out of my blue scraps.  I probably could have pulled out a piece big enough for the base, as well, but wanted to have a white card base.

I used my Scotch Advanced Tape Glider to run lines of adhesive across the card approximately every 1/2 inch.  Some were closer, some further.  Then I started putting pieces around letting them hang off the edge.  I started at the bottom as I knew I wanted the edged piece somewhere near the middle with pieces beneath it.  There were a few “white” spaces, so I added a couple of the ends that were left when cutting the squares.  As my pieces overlapped, I tried using some Tombow glue to get them to stick.  At the top, I wound up with too much glue, and after it dried had to add another piece to cover up the sticky area.

 

When the adhesive was dry, I trimmed off along the edges of the card base.

 

After that, I spritzed it with Perfect Pearls Mist in the Perfect Pearl color, which is an opalescent color.  

Then I used glitter pens to write my sentiment on the last piece and attached it with Scotch Mounting Tape to make it stand out.  After I wrote the sentiment, I did cut the piece down a bit to balance it.

The picture isn’t the best as it is night, but you can see the shimmer a bit on the dark blue embossed pieces.

Thanks for sharing some of your time with me today.  I hope you have a safe and wonderful New Years!

 

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

