Happy New Year

Happy New Year!  Welcome to 2012!

Wanted to start the year off right with a post right away.  As always, you get lots of details on how to do what I did.  The details are what I like, then I can try it and adjust to my preferences.  I’m attempting to add the names of the products I am using.

For this card, I am stamping my own background and just adding a sentiment on top.

I really wish they made white out that didn’t show at all.  I am seriously considering taking some of the tape type to this card.  For some reason, especially on this stamp set, I get a lot of edges.  Oh well, on to how to do the parts that look good.

To start, I decided to use the Dee Gruening’s Signature Series Brush Markers by Marvy Uchida to color my stamp (Spring Mix Set by Gina K. Designs).  That way I could get the green leaves on my flowers and color the flowers with purple.

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the flowers are stamped a few times, I want to add some sparkly butterflies, so I use the Forever Violet Perfect Pearls from Ranger Industries.  To do that, I stamp the small butterfly with Perfect Medium (Ranger Industries), then use a brush to tap some of the Perfect Pearls on.  As I finish all of them, I brush the end of the brush with my hand and sweep as much extra off as possible.  To make them stay, you have to mist it with water.  Do do this, I just use a tiny spray bottle and spray the water into the air, then wave the card through the mist.  It works well, and as the card dries, it tends to straighten out pretty well.

 

 

 

 

Now that my background is done, I leave it to dry and move on to the sentiment.  I grab two shades of purple out of my purple scrap box and stamp the sentiment on the lightest color with Memento Grape Jelly ink.

 I love the fact that between Thanksgiving and Christmas, as well as just after, there are lots of sales and coupons.  For me, this is the perfect time to get some items I have REALLY been wanting for a while.  I recently got the Spellbinders Nestabilities Beaded Ovals set, which is what I used for the sentiment.  After I stamp the sentiment, I place the die over it, so I can center it perfectly, as well as figure out the smallest die I can use.  Then I run it through my Cuttlebug to cut out the piece.  Generally, I try to run it through forwards, then backwards, to make sure the piece is cut out completely.

 After it is cut out, I flip it over and put an embossing pad, a couple of chipboard shims, and a B plate on top and run it through to emboss it.

 

 

This helps as I want to cut the center with the sentiment out and then cut and emboss a darker purple to highlight it.

 

 

 

Now I am ready to put it all together.  I use some small, homemade glue dots to attach the cut out sentiment to it’s darker highlight piece and use some Scotch 3D Mounting Tape to attach the whole piece to the card.  I did double the 3D mounting tape to give it some more depth.

Whew, it seems like a lot of steps, but it really didn’t take too long and besides my terrible stamping with the butterfly, I like how it turned out.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!  Have a wonderful new year!  I look forward to seeing you throughout the year.

Oh, make a note that CardMaker Magazine’s CardSwap is having a Winter Warm Up Crop February 8-11 that is being sponsored by Spellbinders and Elmers.  That will be a ton of fun and I hope to see you there!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

