Double Dutch Fold Card

The weekly challenge this week on CardMaker Magazine’s CardSwap is to make a Double Dutch Fold card.  This was pretty cute, fairly easy and fun to make, so I thought I would walk you through it.

To start, you need the following:

  • 4-3/16 x 9″ piece of card stock
  • 2 x 8-1/2″ piece of card stock
  • Papers to decorate
  • Adhesive

Score the 4-3/16″ x 9″ piece at 5-1/2″.

 

 

Score the 2″ x 8-1/2″ piece at 2-1/8″ and 6-3/8″.  Now fold all the score lines well.

 

Next, attach the back of the larger piece (longer side) to the center section of the smaller piece.  The two small edges should fold over and meet in the center and when you fold the top flap down, it should meet the top of them.

You can now decorate all the flaps however you want.  I was going for a fairly simple look, so this is what I did.

 

 

All that’s left is to make a larger center piece to attach, which will help hold it all closed.  I did a simple cameo stamp (Gina K. Designs: Timeless Treasures), colored it a bit (Koh-i-Noor Woodless Colour Pencils and a gold glitter pen around the edges) and cut it out using a simple oval fairly close to the stamped image.  After I figured out where I wanted it, I put adhesive on the back of the top half of my piece and attached it.  (It is now attached only to the top flap, though it hangs over the bottom two flaps.)  Since there was open space at the top, I was able to stamp Happy Birthday (Stampendous: Party Invite) with Versamark Dazzle ink and then again slightly off the first with ColorBox Gold Brocade pigment ink.

It sounds a lot harder than it actually is.  Take a look at the challenge and see what other people came up with.  Now, try it yourself!

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Double Dutch Fold Card”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

