Get Inspired

Two weeks ago, the kids and I went to the zoo and met my mom and niece and nephew there.  We got there late, so we only got to see a few things, one of which was the Green and Black Poison Dart Frogs.  They were all over in this enclosure and I mentioned to my niece that I would have to make a card like that for Grandma since they were her favorite color.  These frogs were all black with patches of teal/turquoise on them.  Last weekend I took my kids back to the zoo to get a picture of these frogs.  When I drug them to the exhibit twice and the frogs still weren’t out and about, I went with the kids’ suggestion and got pictures online.

Unfortunately, these are not the actual frogs that inspired me, but here’s a picture of the type of frog that inspired me.

 

 

 

 

This has a lot more green on it than the ones I saw at the zoo.

 

 

 

 

The color on the ones I saw was a bright turquoise/teal rather than this more green color, too.

 

 

Anyway, to start I took some Black Licorice paper (Lasting Impressions) and dry embossed a frog (Lasting Impressions S807) on it twice.

The one on the left I used TomBow Mono Multi Liquid Glue with the pen tip and the one on the right I used the Martha Stewart fine-tip glue pen to highlight the spots, eyes and lips.  I let that dry overnight (until I got home from work the next day), though it usually only takes an hour or so.  Then on the one on the left I used some Tonertex Foil sheets in a teal color on top of the glue, rubbed and lifted it off.  The frog on the right, I used Tonertex glitter and just rubbed it on.  I was much more impressed with the way the foil came out than the glitter.  However, it may have been that the glue was a bit neater on the left one than the right.

After that, I used some leaf stamps from the Gina K. Designs Hope Grows set by Theresa Momber and stamped around my card base.  As they are tree frogs, I figured the leaves were appropriate.

Then, I cut out very closely around my frogs and used some Scotch 3D tape to pop them up a bit.  Before I adhered the frogs, I laid them out where I wanted them and wrote in my sentiment.

And there you have my inspiration and what comes of it.  Not always, but you never know when something will catch your eye and get you to stop and think about a fun way to make something.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

I have to tell you, my daughter kept saying, “Can’t you be inspired by zebras?”  Insert every animal we came to after the frogs weren’t there the first time.  It was rather annoying, and I just wasn’t inspired like I was by the frogs.  However, I took several pictures, so you may see some more zoo inspired cards in the future.

Enjoy your day!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Get Inspired”

  1. This is so sweet, Golda. You put a lot of love & creativity into this design. She will love it and it turned out beautifully.
    Hugs,
    Teresa

    PS – I am already getting excited about our Winter Warm-up Crop. Funny though, I just received my March issue and there they are calling it New Beginnings. Ugh!

    Like

    1. That is funny, as that is what it was supposed to be and they changed it to Winter Warm Up, so we all changed our things. No matter what it is called, it will be fun!

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

