Elephant Card

Today I made an elephant card that was kind of fun.

I used:

  • Silver Shimmer Sheet from Lasting Impressions
  • Scuffer from Lasting Impressions
  • Stencil L9577 from Lasting Impressions
  • Patterned paper from the Me & My Big Ideas Value Paper Pack
  • Ribbon from Michael’s
  • Card stock from Recollections
  • Sentiment stamp from Stampin Up Have a Heart set
  • Fleur De Lis Accents from Spellbinders
  • Braid punch from EK Success
  • 3-in-1 Advanced Craft Glue from Beacon’s
  • Scotch Advanced Tape Glider
  • 3D Mounting Tape from Scotch
  • Blue Sakura Glaze pen
  • Memento Summer Sky ink
  • Memento Bahama Blue ink

To start, I found the silver shimmer sheet was the closest to gray I had, so I embossed the elephant on that, then scuffed it before cutting it out.  I also found the fun patterned paper that I thought would be cute with the elephant.  The ribbon was the closest I had to the blues in the paper.  I had my card base, then cut the patterned paper 1/8 inch smaller for the first layer.  Then I cut out the blue card to be a layer on top with another piece of the patterned paper 1/2 inch smaller in height and 1/4 inch smaller in width.  Used the braid punch across the top and then wanted some corner pieces for the inside, so I used a scrap of the patterned paper to cut out the corner piece.  However, I liked the scrap with the hole in it so much, I cut another piece of paper the same size to cut out the other corner piece.

 

 

 

After going around the edge of my card base with the Summer Sky ink, I put the whole thing together.  It was a lot of fun.  However, there wasn’t a lot of room on the front for the sentiment, so I put that on the inside.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Elephant Card”

  1. Adorable card Golda!! Love the elephant on the silver paper. It’s been a long time since I’ve used a stencil. They are so fun, I need to dig mine out and use them.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

