Fun Weekend

I just got back from the Women’s Retreat at my church.  I signed up to go with the intent to meet more of the women from church and make some friends.  I have to say, it was an amazing weekend.  I met a lot of women and got to talk with quite a few I had been wanting to, but never seemed to have the chance to talk to.

We had a lot of fun and I think I made a few friends.  I also had fun listening in on a conversation with a few of the leaders of the Women’s Ministry and they actually listened to some of the suggestions I had.  It was nice to get involved a bit as I haven’t been involved in Women’s ministry in a while and I really miss knowing the other women and being actively involved.

I have to tell you, finding what God has gifted you in, called you to, then getting involved in doing that is extremely fulfilling.  It brings joy to me, as well as the fact that I know I am doing what God wants and what helps others.  That is what brings contentment to life.  It is great, because everyone is gifted differently and called to so many different things.  God has a plan and knows where we are needed and what we need to be doing.  When we aren’t doing what we were created for, there is such an empty place, and we feel useful and fulfilled, as well as joy filled, when we are doing what we were meant for.  Fortunately, what God has for us to do is different at different times of our life.

God is so amazing and has so many blessings for us, when we listen to what He has to say.  No, I don’t hear a voice speaking to me out of the air, I read His word and listen to the hints He surrounds me with.  He speaks clearly, when we take the time to listen to what He has to say.  God also likes to encourage us and make us laugh (take a look at some of the word play jokes Jesus told).

Thanks for spending some time with me today!  Now, I am off to enjoy some family time.  Have a wonderful week!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

3 thoughts on “Fun Weekend”

  1. What a wonderful weekend you had, Golda. Thank you for the lovely words of wisdom you shared. You are right, when you are moving in the gifts and ministry God has mapped out for you, it is a joy-filled place to be. My love is in teaching and mentoring children. Sometimes adults give me a proverbial pat on the back and it seems so out of place. They obviously don’t know how much the children minister to me or how much they actually energize me. Of course, there can be difficulties, but the joy far outweighs them.
    Blessings on your day,
    Teresa

    Like

    1. Teresa, you are an amazing woman. Accept those “pat on the back” moments, as people are just trying to acknowledge that they know what you do and encourage you. A lot of them are so grateful you do it because they know they wouldn’t enjoy it or be able to. That’s why God gives us all different gifts and differing ways to use those gifts. I’m so glad you enjoy working with children and God blesses you in it.

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

