Shaped Card

The challenge on CardMakerMagazine’s CardSwap site this week is to make a shaped card.  The challenge on StampTV this week is to make a card with a monogram.  There is a challenge on SpeedyTV this week to try a distressed and colored technique.  This should meet them all.

My father-in-law just bought a semi-automatic .22, so this is his Father’s Day card.  His name is Dale, which is what the D is for.  The coffee cup made me think of “smokin'”, so I thought it would go well with the card.  It is actually almost A2 size.  I found a picture of the gun I liked online, then sized it to fit an A2 card and printed it out.  I did the distressing on my card base, then held the picture up and cut around the shape.  It was NOT easy doing the trigger area.  With the shape of the card, I figured I needed to decorate both sides, so they look the same, except I got my D upside down on the other side.  Oops!  I don’t think he’ll care.  After I stamped the coffee cup with Memento Tuxedo Black, I used Bic Mark-It markers to color it in.

I’m thinking my father-in-law will like it.  Even if he doesn’t, I tried some new things and I like how it turned out.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Shaped Card”

  1. WOW what a cool card. I love the gun shape, how did you come up with this one?Thanks for trying the Tutorial Time on SpeedyTV technique and joining the fun. We hope to see you again next week.

    Like

    1. Thanks, it was fun to play along. I hope to play along again. The idea was just because I thought it was appropriate for my father-in-law as he just bought or is about to that type of gun.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Jeanette! It wasn’t this card, but I was so excited to have won. It’s a nice change having the card itself win rather than just a random drawing.

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

