Masking Large Areas

There is a technique challenge on Speedy TV this week that involves masking a large part of your card and stamping and inking in shades of the same color.  I’ve done something similar before, but not with three shades of the ink.

I didn’t want straight edges for my masked area as I decided to go with a sea theme, so I used an edger on my mask pieces, then attached those to my front piece and got started.

First was heat embossing with clear/white embossing powder the image a few times.  Next was inking the area with the lightest color of ink.  Then I stamped a couple of sentiments with the medium color of ink.  I also stamped the image a couple of times with the medium ink.  Then I shaded a bit with the medium ink.  At this point, I thought it looked pretty good.  However, after shading a bit with the darkest ink, it added a whole new depth to the area.  Then the masks were removed, I rubbed the area with a dry paper towel to remove the ink from the embossing and then I stamped the final image part on this area and part in the area that had been covered.  This was done with the medium ink as was the main sentiment.

Thought it turned out pretty well.  This is for my husband for Father’s Day.  Without him, raising the kids would have resulted in . . . who knows, but it wouldn’t have been good.  So glad he has been here to help me through it all.  I love that man, even when he frustrates me.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!  Oh, go check out the challenge and play along.  It was easy, fun and there are so many ways to use it.  You have until Thursday night or Friday to play along, too.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

13 thoughts on “Masking Large Areas”

  1. Your “wavy lined” center masked project turned out Wonderful! So glad you could join us for this weeks Tutorial at Tutorial Time Challenge at SpeedyTV

    Like

      1. Golda your card is amazing!!! I love how you stepped it up and the anchors are so perfect!!! Lovely!!! Thanks for playing this week on TTSTV.
        Hugs

        Like

  2. Great card, love the image that you used! Thanks for playing with us this week at Tutorial Time Challenge at SpeedyTV.

    Like

  3. Golda I totally love the scalloped edges of your mask. Great job. Thanks for trying the Tutorial Time on SpeedyTV technique and joining the fun. We hope to see you again next week.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

