Roses Aren’t Always Red

Roses come in so many colors, one of which is a purple, lavender color that I love.  My shading didn’t come out as nicely as I had hoped (yes, there really are a light and a dark color on the two roses), but I like the look of it, anyway.

To make this card, I used negative as well as positive masking.  Negative masking is where you cut out a piece, and use the paper that is left (the one with the hole in it to mask.  I stamped and embossed my roses four times, twice on this background piece, and twice on another piece of card.  Then I cut around the two on the other piece of card and used the left over paper to cover the background around one of the roses.  Then I inked one rose, covered and inked the other.  After that, I used the pieces I cut out to cover up each of these roses and ink with the green around the roses.  I also used a sparkling Versamark ink to stamp the rose a few more times on top of the green on the background.  Then, back to my cut out roses, I cut those apart and cut out a few of the petals, then curled those a bit to give them shape and glued them on top  of the one rose to give it depth.

I also took another piece of card and stamped the rose again after stamping it off once on scratch paper.  On top of that rose, I used the dark ink to stamp the sentiment.  A lot of work went into this one, but I really like the way it turned out.  Next time, I’ll stamp enough extra roses to get petals to go on both of the roses.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!  Check out the tutorial on SpeedyTV on positive and negative masking.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

16 thoughts on “Roses Aren’t Always Red”

  1. Golda you really did a great job on this tutorial! I love the soft colors that you chose. Very pretty!!!
    Thanks for playing this week at TTSTV.
    Hugs

    Like

  2. That looks amazing. I think it’s early because I have read the tutorial on FOSTV twice and read yours and just can’t get it. Going to look around for a video. Or maybe I’ll just drink a cup of coffee! LOL

    Like

    1. Jeanette, cut out your shape, then set aside the shape you cut and take the part you cut it out of to go around your stamped image. Ink your image that way, then throw that part out and use the image you cut out to cover your image and ink around your image that way.

      Like

  3. Pretty card. Gorgeous colors. Thanks for trying the Tutorial Time on SpeedyTV technique and joining the fun. We hope to see you again next week. Be sure to check out all the other challenges on SpeedyTV for more chances to win free stamp sets from Marks Finest Papers, a Heinrich Co.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

