Monochrome Card

When someone challenges me to make a monochrome card, I take that literally – 1 color in its various shades.  To me, if you add a bit of black or white, it is no longer monochromatic.  Yes, I’m “that” kind of person.  But, no, I don’t expect everyone else to be.

There is a sketch challenge at MFPSpeedyTV.com with the twist of using 3 or more patterned papers.  As I wanted it to be monochromatic, I had to find enough different patterned papers that ONLY had the color I was using.  That narrowed my color down to purple.  The picture makes it look like there might be other colors in there, but there are ONLY shades of purple anywhere on this.  I even inked my base around the edges with Concord Grape distress ink to have it be purple, too.

Supplies:

  • 4 different patterned papers with only shades of purple (this came out of my purple box, so I don’t know where all the papers came from, though I know the one with the rings came from Lasting Impressions years ago and the two larger pieces in the back came from the same book)
  • Concord Grape Distress Ink – Ranger
  • Vintage Chic stamp set by Gina K.
  • Grape ink – Memento
  • Thin lavender ribbon  – (not sure of the type) from Michael’s

Thanks for spending some of your time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

10 thoughts on “Monochrome Card”

  1. Your awesome blue card makes me anything other than “blue”:. It’s tremendous. Thanks for sharing this and playing along at Sketch With a Twist. What a blessing to see your pretty work. Have a great week.
    Blessings,
    Karen Letchworth
    Sketch With a Twist

    Like

  2. Gorgeous card. Pretty color pallet. Thanks for playing along with the SpeedyTV’s Sketch with a Twist challenge. We hope to see you again next week. Be sure to check out all the other challenges on SpeedyTV for more chances to win free stamp sets from Marks Finest Papers, a Heinrich Co.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

