What is Masculine?

What makes a card “masculine”?  That was my question to my family.  My husband thought a card with a muscle across it.  His other idea was a girl in a bikini.  My son said something really simple with just one image that just says, “Happy Birthday” right in the middle inside.  My daughter said blues and greens.  Hmm, obviously not quite the way I think as you can tell from my last post.  Here is what I came up with from their suggestions.

It is blues and greens with “Happy Birthday” right in the center inside.  My husband was disappointed I used a dragonfly rather than a big, flexed arm muscle.  Like that was going to happen.

This is kind of fun as the dragonfly looks like it’s flying.  Unfortunately, it’s not going to be able to go through the mail.

I used a paperclip to get it to fly high.  I had to use wire cutters to make it a bit smaller, so hey, there were tools involved.  Inside, I used a large glob of glue and covered it with a thick piece of card stock (couldn’t find the same color, which would have been better).

Have some fun in life and try new things!

I used:

  • Recollections card stock in a teal/turquoise and white
  • Hope Grows stamp set from Gina K. Stamps (leaves)
  • Follow Your Dreams stamp set from Gina K. Stamps (sentiment)
  • Art Accentz Stickeez Decorative Adhesive (dragonfly)
  • Green glitter
  • Perfect Pearls Mists in Heirloom Gold
  • Paint chip from Ace Hardware

Thanks for spending some time with me today!  Make sure you come back tomorrow as I am hosing the “Funky Fold” challenge at CardMaker Magazine’s CardSwap, and the instructions and examples will be here.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

6 thoughts on “What is Masculine?”

  1. Your post made me giggle regarding the comments from your family! My DH wants to encourage me but half the time he does not like my cards!! I am always glad to get the feedback of other paper crafters!!! I love the leaves on your card and the dragonfly is fabulous in fight!!! Thanks for playing along with us this week at Speedy Fox & Friends blog challenge!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Glad you enjoyed my family’s comments. It took a while for my husband to actually start looking at my cards and making comments that had anything to do with them. It used to be like when I would walk into the room and ask if I looked okay and he would say, “Good” without ever looking up. He doesn’t do that anymore, either.

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

