3D Cards

Here is the “How To” on the 3D embellishments like the ornaments on my tags a couple of weeks ago.  Basically, all you need to make the 3D part is an image that is the same on the right and the left and can be folded in half.  For the ornaments on the tags, I used 1-1/2″ circles.  For the following example, I used the skirt part of a stamped image.

To start, I stamped my entire image on a piece of card stock that I intended to attach it to.  As this one has a top and a bottom, I wanted places to put everything.  On the ornaments, I just cut out the 6 circles and folded them in half.

Then I cut the pieces out and folded them in half.

After that, the folded pieces were attached to one another with a liquid glue.  The entire side needs to have adhesive to hold together well.

This is what the piece looks like from the top and from the side when all six pieces are attached together.

Here the card is with all the pieces attached.

And, a better angle to see it from.

This is being entered in several challenges.  The first was a Labor Day challenge for MFP Speedy TV (I always remember being a kid and hearing about not wearing white after Labor Day, which I thought was utterly ridiculous).  If I am allowed, I would also like to enter it in the MFP Speedy TV Simple Salutations challenge this week.  The next challenge is for StampTV and is a Rockin’ to the Oldies challenge of making something that an old Rock ‘n Roll song reminds you of.  This is “Devil in a Blue Dress” by Shorty Long.  The dress isn’t blue, but . . . It is also going in a Sketch Challenge 87 for My Favorite Things at Split Coast Stampers.

Supplies:

  • Gina K – Stenciled Spring, Celebrate in Style
  • Sakura – Stardust Pens
  • Memento – Desert Sand ink
  • Spellbinders – Labels 10, Parisian Accents
  • Assorted Papers from my amazing Secret Pal this summer at CardSwap.

Thanks so much for spending some time with me today!  Enjoy this long weekend.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

12 thoughts on “3D Cards”

  1. Wonderful. Like the dimension this card has with the pieces attached for dress. Thanks for sharing how to do this. Thanks for entering the MFP Simple Salutations Ch9 Anything Goes/Your Choice.
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”
    MFP Simple Salutations

    Like

  2. This is just adorable. I love how you made the bottom part of the dress. I know all about that rule of not wearing white after Labor Day. 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us at FOSTV this week.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

