Plant Wash

No, I’m not washing plants, though I do give them a shower every so often.  I tried two new techniques this week.  The first one was using plant material to make an interesting paper.  This is the tutorial challenge at MFP SpeedyTV this week.  Basically, it was taking some flowers and putting them between two sheets of paper and running them through my Cuttlebug, letting them dry, then pulling the plant pieces out.  I wasn’t thrilled with the way it turned out, but my husband sure was.  This is what I made with my plant paper.

 

I was pretty amazed at the detail that was picked up from the leaves, but the flower part didn’t impress me.  I went with the light lavender that was left from the flowers as the color to use.

Supplies:

  • Winter Crocus stamp set (Mark’s Finest Paper a Heinrich Collection)
  • Grape Jelly and Lulu Lavender inks (Memento)
  • Assorted ribbon and papers

This next one was a wash technique done for StampTV.   I started with a large acrylic block and used 4 different distress inks and just pressed the ink pads onto the block.  Then I sprayed water onto it until the ink formed drops all over and pressed it to my paper. I really like the way it turned out, even if the card isn’t quite as good as I had hoped.

 

Supplies:

  • Gleefully Yours stamp set (Gina K)
  • Remake Grass Greens (K&Company)
  • Ivory Pure Luxury Heavy Base Weight card stock (Gina K)
  • Broken China, Peeled Paint, Concord Grape and Fired Brick Distress Inks (Ranger)
  • Fancy corner punch (Martha Stewart)
  • Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers)
  • Glitter Pens (Gelly Roll – Sakura)

This is for a guy’s birthday.  Any ideas on how to make it a bit better?

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Plant Wash”

  1. Golda that is really pretty! I had a hard time with this tutorial too. Not lots to pick from up here! Good Luck and thanks for joining this week at TTSTV.
    Hugs

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

