Challenge Dec 3-9 2012: Christmas Thank You

As one of the weekly challenges that I love participating in no longer exists, I thought it would be fun to pass the challenge along from random blogs.  There’s not really a way to comment on the submissions, except to come back here.  However, that should be fine, for now.  What I’ve done is create an album on PhotoBucket with this weeks challenge as the first album in the library.  When you upload your creation, please use your CardSwap “name” as the title (white box below picture when it is finished uploading).

To participate, please create either a Thank you card for Christmas, or in Christmas colors.  Those colors can be just about any, just tell why they are your Christmas colors.  You’ll have to do the commenting here this week, but post your projects on the Dec 3-9 2012 album.  Go to PhotoBucket, then CardSwap-Challenges.  The password is Friends as so many of us want to continue the friendships we have begun.  On December 10, 2012, a winner will be chosen randomly using random.org, then I will send a small prize to the winner.

This won’t be perfect, but it should work for a while, until Judy gets her new site up and running and/or CardMaker lets us know what is going on.

Here is my example:

Christmas Thanks

I used mainly blue and white as those are the colors I like to decorate with for Christmas.  Why?  I don’t know, I just like them.  I also had this fun snowman left that looks like he’s melting, so I figured it would work perfectly.  I did add some red as that is my mother-in-laws Christmas color.  No other color will do, for her.  This may not be the best thank you, but the whole thing took about 5 minutes to do.

Thanks for checking this out.  I really hope you play along and post your creations on the album.  Then come back here and comment on what you see.  Thanks for playing along!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

26 thoughts on “Challenge Dec 3-9 2012: Christmas Thank You”

  1. Golda, I love that you used a Rosette in your adorable card! I won’t be able to participate as I am heading to the airport for a week long training. But… will for sure get involved in future challenges. And.. thanks for stepping up to the plate!

    Like

  2. Thanks for keeping us moving along Golda! I love your snowman and the rosette on your card. I don’t really send Christmas Thank You cards because we don’t exchange gifts with anyone. We just give them to our son. I do still need to make some Christmas cards so I hope it’s okay if I post one of those for the challenge.

    Like

    1. Judy, you can make a Christmas thank you, or any sort of thank you in Christmas colors (and those can be anything, just give us a hint on why they’re you consider them your Christmas colors. Thanks so much for getting your site going! Excited to see what’s in store.

      Like

  3. Ok…Hate to be dumb, but… I can follow your link to the photobucket gallery, but 1) I don’t see where I’m supposed to input that password and 2) if I have to login then it navigates me away from the gallery and I don’t know how to find it again save reopening via the link here.

    Can someone help please??!!!

    Like

    1. Try going to Photobucket and just loging in with the name and password I gave. It should pull up the account, where you can click on library and then the album. Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. I’ve been sick, and not on the computer.

      Like

      1. Ah ha! Yep…That’ll work! Now to make & photograph the card!

        And no problem about not getting back to me sooner! 13 hours isn’t bad, especially when most of it was the middle of the night! I’d not have been able to do anything before now anyway!

        Thanks Golda! You’ll hear from me again when i get it finished. 🙂

        Like

  4. Ok–I posted. Nothing complicated. I thought it was cute though. It is for a friend of mine who has watched our little girl a few times free of charge. She’s watching her for us this Friday when we go to my husband’s employer’s Christmas dinner (adults only). She said her kids have sworn they’re never having children so this is as close as she’ll get to having grandchildren who are not ‘fur children’ (i.e. dogs and/or cats).

    I wanted to do something to thank her, so I thought make her a card and when I get my cookies done I’d give her the card and some cookies.

    So It looks like I was the first one…? I’ll check back later to see if anyone joins me.

    Thanks for getting my brain thinking this way, Golda! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  5. Golda and Whispers…cute cards! I love the rosette Golda and Whispers I love the Santa paper you used.

    Changing the subject…Golda I see you won a Dreamweaver Stencil over on Paper Craft Planet! Woohoo! Congratulations. Brass stencils are what got me started with card making back in the 90’s. Dreamweaver has always been my favorite. Lynell Harlow has designed so many nice designs for her stencils. Have fun with your new brass stencil!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the info, Susan! I hadn’t even looked yet as I’ve been sick this week. So, I went over and looked and responded. How fun! I started using brass stencils about 16 or more years ago. Good grief, it’s been a LONG time.

      Like

  6. Yay! I think I did it! The word tag on the front is only crooked and uncentered because I don’t really need this card, but wanted to participate. I hate wasting it and will use it for something else.
    I chose to do snowflakes since that was my very first craft project that I could do “all by myself!” I loved making them and they were all over our home! My mother was a patient woman and supportive of a young budding artist! I miss her more than words can say, so “Thank you Snow Much, Mom for helping me become who I am today.” (Others would say, “So it’s HER fault!)
    I like gate-fold cards. It gives a little variation without becoming time consuming.

    Marilyn

    Like

    1. Marilyn, that is really pretty! I love gate fold cards, too, but rarely do them. I totally get wanting to participate, but not needing the card, so making it easy to change up. So glad you played along.

      Like

  7. We have another ‘player!’–She forgot to put her forum ‘handle’ in as the picture description, but it is my mom’s card (Paintbrushbrown).

    Hope you’re feeling better soon Golda & Jeanette!

    Like

  8. Okay, my friends, is anyone else going to play along? It looks like Judy has Scrapzee.com up and ready for Monday’s challenge by Ana. If you haven’t gone there and registered, yet, hop to it! It is a much better way to communicate than this. But this was worth a try in the mean time.

    I may not be able to check again until late tomorrow afternoon as my niece and nephew are due to be here soon and won’t be leaving until after church tomorrow, so around 1pm. I’m hoping a few of you will have surprised me by then with your wonderful creations.

    Like

  9. Marilyn and Whispers, as you were the only ones that played along, please email me your mailing address and I will send you a small RAK in thanks for playing along. My email is: GoldaPete(at)gmail(dot)com. Thank you so much for playing along.

    Don’t forget, our challenges start up at ScrapZee.com today!

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

