It’s HOT Out!

This is the middle of summer in Phoenix, AZ, so it’s a bit hot out to do too much, so I stayed in and made some cards.

The first one was done for the MFP SpeedyTV Friends of SpeedyTV challenge this week to do a monochromatic card. It is also being entered in the StampTV challenge this week to make a Christmas card. As my ornaments on the side were a bit low for the actual stamped chains, I extended the chains to the top by using a ruler and a purple glitter gel pen. It isn’t precisely the same color, but it really doesn’t look too bad in person.
7-12-13 MFP STV Mono Christmas

This next one was done for the MFP SpeedyTV Simple Salutations challenge this week to have something with wings on the card with a sentiment. It was also entered in the ScrapZee Rotating challenge to do a CAS card with something on it that was fussy cut or punched. I found a great card to go behind my chickens, then stamped them on the base. Oops! Had to find another paper to stamp them on that went well with both the base card and the chickens, so I could fussy cut them.
7-12-13 SZ MFP CAS Wings

This last card was done for the MFP SpeedyTV Tutorial Time challenge to use fabric on a card, as well as the ScrapZee Weekly challenge to use a digi image. The image is one that Dustin Pike gave away as a freebie years ago. The fabric behind him is from a faux snakeskin jacket my grandmother made for my daughter when she was little. My daughter recognized the fabric and where it came from as soon as she saw the card. She and my husband both loved the fabric behind the dragon.
7-12-13 MFP SZ Material Digi
I have to tell you, when I was scoring the yellow base to fold it into a card, I accidentally got a bit of the next line over, so I decided to add the two score lines on each side of the card. That dealt with my mistake and actually improved the look of the card. There’s always something you can do to deal with mistakes and not have to trash your work.

Thank you so very much for spending some of your precious time with me today! I appreciate that you have taken the time to check out my work. Have a most wonderful rest of the day!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

20 thoughts on “It’s HOT Out!”

  1. What an interesting trio of cards in a single post – made me smile how you went from a serene Christmas image through chickens to a dragon on a faux snakeskin fabric – shows what a creative time you were having despite the heat! Thanks for joining our FOSTV monochromatic challenge and the others at Speedy TV and MFP. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Like

  2. Golda, all three cards are great!!! You did have a great craft day.
    Thanks for joining all the challenges at Speedy TV and especially Tutorial Time.
    Hugs….Jane

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

