Simple Cards

When we get started doing something new, we rarely have many supplies.  So, this post is showing how you can make cards using what you have as you gain supplies.

To start with, you will probably have a couple of stamps.  You really only need black ink to start, so that is what I used for all of these cards.  The ink I recommend is Memento Tuxedo Black as it dries quickly, looks good and you can get it at most craft supply stores with coupons.  I love those 40% and 50% off coupons.

HC Series 1

 

The stamps I used on all of these cards are the same.  They are the Heartfelt Creations Heartfelt Expressions HCPC3474 for the sentiment and the Botanical Floral 2 HCPC3407 for the flower.  These are both sets of stamps that include other stamps, but I wanted to show you how simple you can make a nice card.  The only other thing I did was use a black pen to add the little marks on the sides of the flower.

If you enjoy stamping, you might want to get some colored pencils.  I started off with Crayola pencils that were left from my kids’ school supplies, but later found that I liked the Colorific ones better.  These are simple to find at start of school sales quite cheaply.  Over the years, I decided I would like some nicer pencils and using a 50% off coupon, purchased a set of Koh-i-Noor Woodless Colour Pencils.  I really like these, but they were a bit expensive, even with the coupon.  However, I’ve been using them for a couple of years and plan to use them for many more, so they were worth it.

HC Series 2

 

On this one, I did the same stamping, but used a purple pencil to shade in the flower a bit and highlight the large word in the center of the sentiment.  I also used the colored pencil to add the little marks on the side of the flower.

If you continue in paper crafting and/or card making, you will almost certainly wind up purchasing patterned papers, or being given some.  The papers I used are from a Cardmaker’s Creative Pack in Citrus that I got on clearance, so it was quite cheap, but I love most of the colors and patterns in the pack.  Now, you may, if intend to keep on paper crafting invest in a die cutting machine of some sort.  I purchased a Cuttlebug by Provocraft many years ago and I have purchased quite a few dies through the years, as well.  These are more expensive purchases, but, once again, those 50% off coupons can be used and definitely were.  I can use my Cuttlebug for embossing using stencils, embossing folders, and even some of the dies I have purchased.  It also does the cutting using many different types of dies.  As much as I use it, it was definitely worth the expense.

HC Series 3

 

For this one, I used the purple colored pencil again, and then used the Spellbinders Rose Creation die S5-050 to cut out two of the flowers that went with the size of the stamp.  It is nice that the stamps and the die work perfectly together.  Heartfelt Creations is really good about working with Spellbinders and matching things up.  They even have special dies that Spellbinders makes just for them to go with some of their stamp sets.  I also used a lavender brad in the center of the flowers to hold them together and cover the hole in the center.  This one also required a bit of adhesive.  White glue works okay, but over the years I have found that the Scotch Advanced Tape Glider works really well for certain things and the Beacons 3 in 1 liquid glue works well for others.  I also use Scotch 3D tape to add dimension and Zig 2-Way glue for little things.  I used a small dot of the Beacons liquid glue on this.

This last card uses the same supplies, but I added a piece of vellum over some patterned paper and instead of cutting flower pieces out to make a dimensional flower, I used the die to cut a hole in the vellum and have the paper show through.  I used another brad in the center to draw attention to the “flower”.  Vellum isn’t as readily available as patterned paper, but it is still pretty easy to find.  It is a fun thing to have and use, though it is more difficult to work with than regular papers.  When attaching vellum, you need an adhesive that is made for it.  The best vellum adhesive I have found is the Therm-o-web vellum adhesive runner.  I’ve tried a lot of different ones and this is the best that I’ve found, so I definitely recommend it.  It is also one of those items you can use a coupon on.

HC Series 4

 

So, here are different things that you can do using a few, to many supplies.  All are fairly simple and can be changed up.  For any of them, you could use a rhinestone or pearl in the center of the flower.  You can also use glitter gel pens to add color and sparkle.  But, as you can see, it doesn’t take a lot to make something special for a special person.

HC Series All

 

I know this is a long post, but I really wanted to share some ways to create with little.

Thanks for spending some of your time with me!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

