Cookies!

When I was little, my great-aunt Angie would always bring these amazing cookies to Christmas.  I LOVED these cookies.  When I was 8, I got diabetes, but I was allowed to eat sugar on Christmas and my birthday.  So, I always went straight for Aunt Angie’s cookies.  When I grew up, I asked and finally received the recipe.  They are one of my family’s favorites, too.  I’m willing to share this with you, so you can enjoy these wonderful cookies.

OLD FASHIONED SOUR CREAM COOKIES

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-2/3 cup flour (I use unbleached white by King Arthur)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg (absolutely necessary)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Cream shortening, sugar, egg and vanilla.  Mix dry ingredients and add to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream.  Chill dough 2 hours.  Divide dough and roll out 1/4 to 1/3 inch thick (recipe says 1/2 inch, but I’ve never made them that thick).  Place on greased baking pan and sprinkle with sugar (I use baking stones and do not grease them).  Bake at 425 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.  (With the stones, the first batch on each stone I do 10 minutes, then 8 for any additional.)

I use a 3″ round cookie cutter and really don’t get many cookies, you can make them smaller and probably decrease the baking time.  These are amazing cookies, but you don’t want to incorporate too much extra flour, so only roll the dough out 2, maybe 3 times at the most.  To do this, I do smaller batches at a time.  Don’t forget to sprinkle the sugar on before baking.  Another thing I’ve learned, you can double the recipe, which gives you approximately 3 dozen cookies, but it is messy to mix, so be careful.  Don’t try to do more than double as it just doesn’t work well.  Also, these should barely be browned on the edges, if at all, so don’t over cook as they aren’t nearly as good.

These take a lot of time and work, but they are so very worth it!

Thanks for spending some time with me.  I just wanted to share something with you that is important to me.  Please, take the time to try these at least once.  They really are worth the effort.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Cookies!”

    1. You can definitely do shapes (I have, before). However, these are soft cookies and the sprinkle of sugar is plenty. I do have a Sugar Cookie recipe that turns out amazing and those can be frosted. Almost all of the cookies I do are soft as that is the way we like them. I’ll try and remember to post the sugar cookie recipe soon.

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

