Peanut Butter Cookies

One of my grandfathers absolutely loves peanut butter cookies.  I have always loved peanut butter, so you would think I would love peanut butter cookies, too.  Unfortunately, most PB cookies are hard and crumbly.  It’s horrible to take the first bite of a cookie and have the rest of the thing crumble all over you.  Anyway, I tried every PB cookie recipe I could find and never found a good one.  Then I decided to try combining a few things from different recipes and came up with one that my family and I enjoy.  Now, these are really good and not crumbly for about a week.  After that, they start drying out and getting crumbly.  So, you have to eat them quickly.

Peanut Butter Criss Crosses

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 beaten eggs (just mix them up a bit before adding)
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

Cream together shortening and butter.  Then add the two sugars and beat until light and fluffy.  Beat in the vanilla and eggs (I like to break up the eggs before adding).  Now mix in all the dry ingredients.  You may need to chill for 1 hour before forming balls.  Form 3/4″ balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet (I use stones).  Press with the tines of a fork to make criss crosses and flatten about 1/2 way.  Bake at 350 degrees for 6 minutes.  Sometimes I use a melon baller to form my scoops, and then I have to bake for 9 to 10 minutes.

See if you like these.  Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

