Ornaments and Winter Birthdays

It’s getting close to Christmas, so I made an ornament for our tree.  This year, we only decorated the top 2/3 of the tree as we weren’t sure how Milo would deal with the tree.  He has pulled at some of the bottom branches, but didn’t knock it over or do anything dramatic.  It was fun to watch him stand on his hind legs to try to sniff the lower ornaments.  He only growls at it when the lights are on and he’s trying to nap.  Pretty funny.  Now, I’m a little nervous about actually wrapping the presents and putting them under the tree.  I left off the tree skirt this year as Milo loves pulling and scratching at blankets, rugs, etc. to get them comfy before he lays on them.  As one of my grandmothers did these amazing stitched decorations around the tree skirt, I did not want to chance him getting at it.

Sorry, back to the ornament.

12-9-13 White-Silver Ornament

Supplies:

  • White card stock
  • Moroccan Accents (Spellbinders)
  • Little Church 2012 (MFP Heinrich Collection)
  • Silver ink (Inkadinkado)
  • Liquid Adhesive (Tombow)
  • Silver Cord (??)

I cut out 6 of the snowflake type Moroccan Accent, used paper to cover all but “God” on the sentiment and stamped in silver (cover rest of sentiment with papers and apply ink, then remove papers and stamp), folded each “snowflake” in half and adhered left side of one to right side of another until all were together.  Before adhering the end of the last to the front of the first, I pulled all the pieces together and applied liquid adhesive down the line laying the two ends of the cord on top.  It didn’t work wonderfully, but did work.  Hot glue might have been better for that part.  Then I adhered the front of the first to the end of the last to pull it all together.  This is being entered in the MFP SpeedyTV Friends of SpeedyTV challenge this week.  The silver ink looks more gray than silver, but it does have some sparkle to it in the light.

My grandmother has a birthday coming up the first of February and her favorite color is purple, so I worked on her birthday card this week, too.

12-11-13 Purple Sketch

 

Supplies:

  • Parisian Garden patterned paper pack (Gina K.)
  • Parisian Garden accompaniment card stock pack (Gina K.)
  • Vintage Chic stamp set (Gina K.)
  • London Fog ink (Memento)
  • Silver glitter pen (Sakura)
  • Ribbon, brad, rhinestones, lavender thread (assorted)
  • Embossed piece was sent to me by a friend – love the words on it

I knew I wanted to use the embossed piece my friend sent me as it is a purple, which is my grandmother’s favorite color and it had wonderful words all over it, so I found a patterned paper in the pack that worked with it, then found the card stocks to go with it, but in different colors, as well.  For the stitching, I placed my stamped kite on top of an old mouse pad and pushed a needle through to make the holes, then found a needle and started stitching.  I taped the one end on the back of the piece.  Cut all the pieces to an appropriate size and started adhering together.  For the sentiment, I traced the “Moxie” with the silver stardust pen to give it some sparkle.  This is being entered in the MFP SpeedyTV Sketch with a Twist challenge for this week.

Now, over at ScrapZee.com, we are trying to spice things up a bit and add some more fun to the board.  So, you need to keep heading over there and checking it out.  As it is just before Christmas, there won’t be too many new things for the next couple of weeks, but if you like to work with paper, it is a great place to be.  It’s free to join and fun to chat with others who love playing with paper.  I’m hosting the Wednesday challenge this week starting 12/18/13, so come play along.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

 

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

8 thoughts on “Ornaments and Winter Birthdays”

  1. I really liked the ornament. Hopefully the tree has survived.

    I’m so impressed with hand-stitching on your card, especially in the run up for Christmas. Your grandmother will love it. Thanks for joining us on MFP’s Sketch with a Twist and so sorry for being late in commenting.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

