Teepee Fold

12-18-13 Teepee 7

This fun card stands up and is a good display piece, as well as a card.  The dimensions I am about to give you will fit into a regular invitation size envelope, though it is a bit thick.

Teepee card instructions:

Cut 3 pieces of card stock to 4″ squares.  (4″ by 4″)  I used two white and one color, though you could use all white and decorate more, or 3 patterned pieces, 3 color, etc.  For mine, I also cut a 3-1/2″ square out of patterned paper for decoration.

12-18-13 Teepee 1

Next, I cut that decoration square in 1/2 along the diagonal.  The 3 main pieces, I folded in 1/2 along the diagonal.

12-18-13 Teepee 2

Next I adhered the right side of my first piece to the left side of my next piece along the diagonal.  Remember, you will still need to fold it, so do this just to the right of your fold.

12-18-13 Teepee 3

Adhere the last piece to the middle piece in the same manner.

12-18-13 Teepee 4

Now you can add your decorative pieces, if you want them.  Another way to decorate this card is to stamp on the 3 main pieces before adhering them together.

12-18-13 Teepee 5

After your pieces are decorated, you need a way to get your teepee to stand up.  For mine, I laid the far right end over the far left end aligning the side of the right with the fold on the left, then pinched it together and punched a hole through.  You could use a small velcro closure, or a removable glue dot, or . . .

12-18-13 Teepee 6

After mine was finished, I decided I wanted a little more decoration, so I untied it and stamped the lower front corners.

12-18-13 Teepee 7

My retying of the bow isn’t fabulous, but you get the idea.

12-18-13 Teepee 8

To fold it for mailing, I untied the back flap and tied the bow loosely, so the recipient can see that is where it will be tied.  This one will probably need some instructions so the recipient can get it to stand properly.  Then, I folded both end pieces in to the middle (the front is flat on my desk, then folded the two sides together.  It’s a bit tight of a fold and rather thick, but it does fit into a regular invitation sized envelope for mailing.  Check how thick your envelope is before mailing as it will need an extra 20 cent stamp if it is too thick or heavy.

12-18-13 Teepee 10

12-18-13 Teepee 9

This card only took a few minutes and that included finding my papers and cutting the squares, then finding a stamp to fit my corners and ink that worked.  Simple, quick and fun.  If you decide to do more decoration than I did, it will take a little longer.

Now, go have some fun and make some Teepee cards!  Please check out my challenge for this on the ScrapZee.com forum.

Thanks for spending some time with me!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Teepee Fold”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

