A Day of Fun

Here’s a question for you. . .WHAT is a CHESTNUT?  I have the line, “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire, Jack Frost nipping at your nose. . .” going through my head and I don’t have a clue what a chestnut is.  Peanuts, cashews, Brazil nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, pecans, macadamia I know, but what is a chestnut?

On Thursday, there was a guy going from office to office in my complex selling these certificates for a beauty salon in town.  As I’ve been needing a haircut for a while now, and getting quite frustrated with my hair recently, I looked at the certificate, which included a haircut, a nail appointment, a facial and a style appointment (4 separate visits) for $39.99.  I figured that’s about the price of a good haircut, plus I get the others, so I actually bought one.  I called that evening and made my appointment for the haircut for this morning.  I wasn’t thrilled with my hair while leaving the appointment, but after Rob and I exercised and I showered and rinsed my hair off, then let it dry naturally, I REALLY like it.  Rob really likes it, too.  It helps that the owner of the salon is the one that did my hair and her daughter has curly hair a lot like mine, so I figured she would do a good job.  (The daughter was there and her hair looked great.)  So, I’m recommending Devine Salon, which is at 33rd AVE and Bell RD.  This was the day of fun part.

I made Pistachio Fudge for Christmas Eve and Day today, then got the house cleaned as I’m working on Tuesday (my normal cleaning day).

This evening I get to go to a concert at Desert Christian Fellowship, which should be amazing.  But first, I want to share another cookie recipe with you.  Not quite sure where I got this one from, but I remember when I first saw the name “Perfect Sugar Cookies” I said, “Yeah, right.”  Well, after making them for years, they really were right.  These are nice and soft, rather than the hard, bite into them and they crumble everywhere sugar cookies so many are.  So, here is the recipe.

Perfect Sugar Cookies

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 3 Tablespoons milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Mix dry ingredients, then cut in shortening.  Add remaining ingredients.  Roll on lightly floured board to 1/4 to 1/3 inch thick.  Cut with cookie cutter (I use a 3″ round).  Sprinkle with granulated sugar, or sprinkles.  Bake 8 to 10 minutes until lightly browned.

Using my 3″ round cookie cutter, I usually get 28 cookies.  It doesn’t make a lot, but they are really good.

Thank you for spending some time with me today!  Have a very Happy Christmas this week!

Don’t forget, if you know what a chestnut is, please describe it to me.  Thanks!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

