Shaped Cards

StampTV is posting some challenges for a guest design team member for February.  Looking at all of the submissions for the different challenges, I doubt it will be me, but I’m sure having fun participating.  One of the challenges was to make a shaped card.  When I mentioned that to my daughter, she hollers out, “Heart!  You have to make a heart card for Valentines.”  So, I made a heart card for her for Valentine’s.

Heart Card

 

Yes, it is actually folded at the top.  Had fun with this one as I used Versamark Shimmer ink for the hibiscus flowers on the card itself.  My daughter absolutely loves the hibiscus flower.  She also loves pink, hence the pink card, pink ribbon and sparkly pink embossing powder.  The hibiscus flower stamps are from a set called Stately Flowers 4 (Gina K).  The sentiment stamp is from a set called Lovely Labels 3 (Gina K).

Now, when my husband heard shaped card, he immediately said an octagon.  That seemed a bit plain to me, but my son said an octagon, too.  When they were together I told them it was funny that they had both come up with the same shape, but I thought that was plain.  My son thinks for a bit and comes out with, “Dodecahedron” which is a 12 sided polygon.  What I came up with I called, “Tetracontakaihexagon” which is a 46 sided polygon.  Not sure exactly how many sides it has, but there are a lot.  My base is an octagon, with many layers of octagons twisted on top.

Jons

 

My son will be getting this one for Valentine’s.  The background stamp is from Timeless Textures (Gina K) and the sentiment is from A Little Something (Gina K).  Yes, every layer was stamped all over with that background stamp before being adhered.

When I was thinking about shaped cards, I really wanted something that was an unusual shape.  So, I used my Silhouette and found a font I liked and made two cards.  It was fun to figure out how to make it work just the way I wanted.  I used antique looking stamps and stamped off on the one for my father and all sorts of fishing stamps for the one for my father-in-law.  Had so much fun with this!

Dad

 

Thanks for spending time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

