Invitation Double Twist Easel

I was challenged to make an easel card, but wanted to make it a twist easel.  I like the double twist easel cards, but they are usually square, so I had to design my own.  Personally, I like my cards to fit in invitation size envelopes, so I always have the right size.  (Sometimes I forget I now own the Envelope Punch Board and can make whatever size I need.)  This is for the Monday challenge at ScrapZee, as well as the MFP SpeedyTV FOSTV challenge to make an easel card.

Anyway, for my base, I cut a piece of card stock 4 1/4 x 11 inches.  Scoring along the length at 2 3/4 and 8 1/4 inches.  Those side sections, I folded the bottom up along the fold line.

Dbl Tw Esl 1

 

The pieces for the sides are 2 3/4 by 4 1/4 inches.

Fold those bottom corners in towards the center and put adhesive around the triangles.

Dbl Tw Esl 2

 

Now, I unfolded mine and folded the whole side section over to adhere the patterned paper pieces.  It was easier to line up that way.  Do both sides.

Dbl Tw Esl 3

 

Now, you will need a “stopper”, so make something cute that sticks up a bit.  I just put some brads that matched my color scheme through white flowers (as there are white flowers all over those side panels) and put them through the base.  Mine are a bit close to the sides.  They would work better if they were a bit closer to the bottom and center.

Dbl Tw Esl 4

Then I put my stamped images on the side panels, wrote my sentiment inside and it is ready to go.  When folded flat, it will fit inside an invitation sized envelope as the card is 5 1/2 by 4 1/4 inches.

Here is a picture from the front so you can see it better.  (The color in this picture is closer to reality.)

Dbl Tw Esl 5

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Invitation Double Twist Easel”

  1. Golda – this is a lovely card -thanks for slipping it by FOSTV this week – best wishes on the draw and you can upload to 4 different cards in this Easel challenge if you like – have a nice day!

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

