Olympics 2014

I don’t know about you, but watching the Olympics always makes me want to kick a bit higher, run faster (if I could actually run) and just step out a bit further.  So, here are a couple of cards that step out a bit.

2-14-14 MFP STV Olympics

This first one was totally inspired by the shirt the young Japanese skater wore in his short program the other night.  I really enjoyed his skating, but his shirt really jumped out at me.  After he was done and coming off the ice, where I could see the shirt better, I told my husband, I want to make that.  So, my background piece is a light blue (swirled with ink) with a bit of darker blue swirled in and instead of rows of rhinestones, I used offset dots with my Stardust pen (Sakura).  This was also inspired by the MFP SpeedyTV Inspiration challenge, which was woodies (cars with wood panels) at the beach.  So, I added a wood panel embossed piece cut with a border die (on both sides) that reminded me of the 60s.  There is silver sparkle embossing powder on the border for the background, which I thought would look a bit like sparkling waves.  I also added a fun hibiscus flower to add a bit of a different color and as Hawaii has waves all around, throws a bit of Hawaii in there, too.  Whew, a lot in a card, but I sure had fun with this one.

2-14-14 MFP Flower Soft

 

For the MFP SpeedyTV  Tutorial Time challenge this week, we were to use a sponge and make our own “Flower Soft”.  Now, I’ve never used flower soft before, but I think the centers of my flowers turned out pretty well.  However, it wasn’t as loose as I would have liked.  Hmmm, having extra sponges probably would have helped (the kitchen sponge is a bit shorter than it used to be).  The flower, I added lots of layers and gave them all dimension.  I love the way it looks, but it certainly won’t mail well.  Adding all the dimension was something I rarely do and was tons of fun.

So, this was my stepping out a bit further.  I hope you enjoyed this.  What does the Olympics inspire you to do?

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

10 thoughts on “Olympics 2014”

  1. Your cards are both so beautifully done. I especially like the first one and all the details. Thank you, for joining us for the Speedy TV Inspiration challenge.

    Like

  2. Very pretty cards again this week! Your colors are so soft and pretty and I love the flowers in both but especially in your MFPSpeedyTV Inspiration card. Fun stuff. Thanks again for joining us – I love to see your creations!

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

