Altered Book

There was a challenge on ScrapZee in the Kicking It Up A Notch section a few weeks ago to alter a composition notebook.  Well, I had found a notebook and set it on my desk, but never had time to actually alter it.  This week, StampTV is doing a challenge to use their stamps to make anything but a flat card.  As my husband’s birthday is coming up in a couple of weeks, I decided to alter the notebook using Gina K stamps and give it a masculine/wood feel as Rob has started doing wood working.

I used a Freebie download from the StampTV site for the background wood paper.  The sets I used are: The Giving Tree, Beyond Baskets, Pretty Patterns, and Timeless Treasures.  I also used some washi tape from Elmer’s for the edges.  I’m not real thrilled with washi tape as it isn’t incredibly sticky, but I like the look of it here.  The pockets inside are made from paper from two different sets, however, I’ve lost the front cover, so I’m not sure who they are by.

3-12-14 Book Front

 

This is the front cover.  As it is for my husband, I didn’t want anything frilly on it and kept it pretty plain.  I did use the barrel image and made a small pocket for the twine that holds it closed.

3-12-14 Book Cover 2

 

3-12-14 Book In 1

 

Inside the front cover is a pocket to tuck notes in, as well as the sentiment “Treasure The Moment”.  Various pages throughout the book have some stamping on them, though I choose things from the different sets that had to do with wood.  There is a little squirrel on many of the pages.

There are two dividers in the book.  One says “fun” and the other “family”.  The book I choose has graph paper, which I thought was perfect for his planning out projects.

3-12-14 Book In 2

 

P1070659

 

The picture doesn’t show it very well, but the back cover says, “Looking Back”.  Thought that would be funny.

Hopefully Robert will enjoy this and get good use out of it.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Altered Book”

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been tto your blog before but after going
    through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and
    I’ll be book-marking it and checling back regularly!

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!

