OPI Mini Nordic Collection

I’ve never tried OPI nail polish before, that I know of.  Granted, as I’ve only been painting my nails for less than a year, that probably isn’t all that unusual.  A few weeks ago, I was able to get the OPI Nordic mini collection with a coupon.  Last night, I tried some of it.

10-12-14 OPI

Now, I wasn’t overly impressed with it.  I absolutely love the color of the second bottle in from the left, the mint green color, so I decided to use that and the brown with the glitter on top.

I did a thin-ish layer first of the brown, and green on every other finger, which went on fairly smoothly, but was definitely see through.  So, I did a second thicker layer.  However, it didn’t really level out well.  I had a couple of fingers that had weird ridges/patches.  I let that dry for a bit and put the glitter over it.  The glitter hid the messiness, but it is very thick and bumpy.  I’m not one that likes texture, I really like smooth nails, so it’s a bit irritating.

Now, I always start with basecoat.  Lately I’ve been using Orly Bonder. I always end with a topcoat, too.  Now, I used Seche Vite for about 1/2 a bottle, then it got all stringy and gloppy.  After trying a nail polish thinner, which did not work, I tried a new top coat.  What I’ve been using is HK Girl.  I’m about 1/3 to 1/2 way through the bottle and it is still in good condition, which is a definite plus.  It smooths things out quite well and dries very quickly.

Except for a couple of times, I do my nails in the evening and let them dry before going to bed.  In the morning, I use my bath scrubbie with soap and water and rub the excess of my fingers.  It works pretty well.

Here is what my hands looked like before this morning’s shower.  The left isn’t nearly as bad as the right.  I am right-handed.

10-12-14 OPI Left Before10-12-14 OPI Right Before

Here is what they looked like after the shower.  They may have bits of ridges around the edge, but I much prefer nail polish that completely covers my nail.

10-12-14 OPI Left After

10-12-14 OPI Right After

These are tiny bottles of nail polish, but I only wanted to try them, so it worked out pretty well.

10-12-14 OPI All

I probably won’t go out of my way to purchase more OPI polish, but, as with all polishes, I’m sure some are better than others.  For me, I’ve only had one polish that went on with as many problems (fortunately that one is a tiny bottle that I got on clearance), so I’ll probably stick with others that apply better.

Oh, I did want to say that though the 3rd bottle from the left looks brown in the bottle and pretty much looked brown in the dim lighting last night, it seems to have a bit of gray or black to it, which gives it an interesting color.  I do really like the colors.  The purple is definitely on my try soon list.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

I have to tell you, at the beginning of day 5, I have a bit of wear at the tips, which is normal as I am not easy on my nails and use my hands for everything, all the time.  However, I only have one tiny chip, which is definitely not usual.  So, this polish really holds up well.  I am quite impressed.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

