Smile

A few days ago I saw an amazing post called, “Around the World in Nine Photos” by Krista.  Now, I’m not a world traveler, I see beautiful pictures of places and think,  “Wow! I’d love to go there sometime.”  However, these were pretty amazing photos that were shared and a couple of them had people in different areas of the world smiling.

I’m often told I have a beautiful smile.  It’s not that my teeth are perfect (they certainly aren’t), or my lips are perfectly formed (a kid in grade school used to make fun of my lips being too fat), it’s where my smile comes from.  My smile is a gift from God.  He has given me every reason to smile, whether things are going good, or bad, my health is horrid, or actually pretty decent for a change, my situation is great, or horrid.  He blessed me with life (when I should have died many times over), hope (I know where I’m going and why I’m here), and gratitude for all He does and allows me to do.  God is absolutely amazing.  He gave me a smile and that is something to be shared with others.  So, I share it.  I smile at people I pass on the street, people who are near me in stores, or lines, no matter their lot in life.  Do I smile constantly?  It sounds like it, but no.  And, I look at people when I smile at them.  Yes, that has caused some unwanted attention as some think I’m flirting.  I’m not.

Anyway, when I see someone smiling (a real smile, not the fake ones kids in America are trained to pop on their face as soon as a camera or phone appears), I thank God for the person and for their smile.  Smiles really are a generous gift.  It encourages someone else, who maybe doesn’t see a smile very often, or has had a really rough time.  And, they are contagious.  When someone smiles at me, it makes me smile and share that smile with someone else, who may smile then, or later, which encourages another to smile.  Those real smiles give us pause and work their way through us, to give us a brief rest and often a different outlook on life.  What may have seemed a huge problem, doesn’t look so huge anymore, or maybe we a way around it rather than through it.

So, take a look at the gorgeous pictures in the original blog post.  Take a moment to relax and enjoy.  Then, go smile at someone as you go through your day.  They may really need that bit of encouragement, or someone they smile at may.  Who knows, your smile, passed on, may be the only bright spot in the day someone along the way.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Smile”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

