Minion Gift Card Holder

The Minions are everywhere.  So, I figured I’d figure out a way to make a Minion gift card holder.

Minion Gift Card 5

Needed:

  • Blue card stock (Gina K Powder Blue)
  • Yellow card stock (Gina K Wild Dandelion)
  • Shimmer sheets: silver, white, gold
  • Black ribbon: 1/2″ and tiny (1/8″?)
  • Spellbinders: Labels 1, Standard Circles Small
  • Black Enamel Accent
  • Memento Blue Danube ink
  • Yellow Brad
  • Pop dot
  • Black pen
  • Scotch removable tape
  • 1/4″ Score Tape
  • Glue pen (Zig)
  • Scotch tape runner
  • Beacons 3-in-1 Craft Glue
  • Scissors

You will need pretty heavy duty card stock for this.  To start, I cut a piece of the blue card stock to 4-1/4″ by 5-1/2″.  I also cut a 4-1/4″ by 2-1/2″ piece of the blue card stock for the overalls.  The yellow card stock is cut to 4-1/4″ by 3-1/2″.  I used the smallest Spellbinders’ Label 1 die and cut out a pocket, trimming one side flat.  You can use whatever you have that you think looks like a pocket.  On the overall piece of blue, I flipped it over to the back, measured down 1/4″ and drew a line lightly across.  I also measured in 1/4″ and 1/2″ on each side above that line.  Remember, the 4-1/4″ side is your horizontal, which is the direction you want your line.  After all the lines were drawn, I used some small scissors to cut off the two outside corners, and the section in the middle.  I also used the blue ink to go around the edges of the pocket piece and the overall piece to make it stand out a bit.

My Minion is pretty close to “Carl”, so I only used 1 goggle.  To make the goggle and eye, I cut a piece of silver shimmer sheet into a 1-1/2″ circle, with a 1″ circle out of the center.  I cut a 1-1/4″ circle out of the white shimmer sheet, and used the smallest Spellbinders’ Standard Circles Small die to cut the iris out of gold.

Minion Gift Card 1

Now, for the hair and the goggle strap, I used black ribbon that I had.  The wider black was wide enough to go across the yellow piece and wrap a bit onto the back.  The “hair” is approximately 2″ long.

Minion Gift Card 2

The hardest part was trying to figure out how to round the top of the head.  I used Scotch removable tape to hold the yellow piece on top of the blue back piece (4-1/4 by 5-1/2), with the 4-1/4″ being the horizontal as this will be a tall piece.  Then, I used my Creative Memories circle cutter to round the top, though you could use a plate or cup and lightly draw a line and cut with scissors, too.

I used a glue pen on the back of my silver ring, adhered the white circle on that, flipped the piece over (after the glue was dried), put a dot of glue in the center of the white and adhered the gold.  Then, I used the black enamel accent to make a small roundish spot in the center of the eye.  After that was dry, I used a pencil to add some light lines around it, like you see in an eye.

The glue pen was also used to go around the sides and bottom of my pocket piece and attach that to the overalls.  I left the top open, so something could actually be tucked into the pocket, if desired.

On the back of the wider ribbon, I used the tape runner, then adhered that at the point where the rounding stopped on the sides.  Wrap the ends around the back and press tightly.  Next, I put a drop of the Beacon’s 3-in-1 craft glue on a piece of scrap paper (the one I work on when inking and adhering), laid the ends of the “hair” in that and pressed them on randomly.  I put a couple of the pieces on the back to give it some depth.  Added a small half smile I’ve seen on some of the Minions with a black pen.

Now that the goggle eye was completely dry, I put a pop dot in the center of the “strap” and put the goggle eye on top.

After the yellow piece was complete, I laid that on top of the blue back piece, lined everything up, poked a hole in approximately 1/4″ from the left side and 1/4″ up from the bottom of the yellow piece.  The brad was then put through and opened on the back.  Next, I used the Score Tape around the edges of the bottom of the blue back piece.

Minion Gift Card 3

After I rubbed the score tape down REALLY well, I pulled off the liner, lined up the bottom and edges of the overall piece, and pressed that down really well.  You can see a small spot on the bottom edge of the yellow face piece that lifted up when I pulled off the removable tape, so I just rubbed that lightly to get it to fall off.

Here he is finished:

Minion Gift Card 4

Minion Gift Card 5

Now, my son-in-law is a HUGE Minion fan, so this is for him.  The gift card will be a blue one from a store he likes, not the one I happened to have as an example.  This really was pretty simple to make and definitely fun.  I’m sure it will be enjoyed, too.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “Minion Gift Card Holder”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

