Wiggle Cards

I’ve heard them called shaker cards, but when I think of shaker cards, I think of the ones with the boxes that you shake.  So, for me, these are Wiggle Cards.  Well, one of them is a gift tag.

Here’s what I’m talking about:

10-31-15 STV Glitter 11-1-15 STV Shimmer Fish Shake 6

Part of each is popped up on a spring, so it wiggles when the card moves, or they are touched.  Now, you can use “Action Wobbles”, but for these, I made my own spring.

Here’s how:

Shake 1 Shake 2

I took some 26 gauge wire, which I found in the jewelry department at Michael’s, wrapped it around a pen a few times.  For the larger piece here on the tag, I used the cap to wrap around, but for the smaller pieces, like the fish, I used the smaller end.  The more times you wrap around, the taller your spring will be.  Try to get the ends pretty flat, so more will be adhered.

Shake 5

I used some Beacons 3-in-1 glue and adhered the spring to the piece first, let that dry, then adhered to the main part (tag or card).  Let that dry and I had some fun action cards.

I’ve heard other people say that they tried 22 and 24 gauge wire, but those didn’t work nearly as well as the 26 gauge wire.

They do press down and pop back up, but I haven’t tried holding them pressed down for a long period of time, so not sure how they would work after that.  Personally, I’m hand delivering the ones I made, but you could make a pillow box envelope mailer for them.  It costs a bit more, but they are so fun, it’s probably worth it.

This is a challenge in the Baby It’s Cold Out Crop at We Craft Cards.  Go check it out.  Play along with this, and so many other fun challenges, too.  It’s free to join and a fun place to be inspired, as well as encouraged.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

