Christmas Out of the Box

On July 25, a stamp company I like was having a “Christmas in July” sale.  As I went and perused their adorable Christmas images, I thought how cute they are, but how they almost all included snow.  Now, I was born and raised in the desert.  Granted, our desert has gotten snow a few times in my life, but usually not enough to stick once the sun comes up.  So, as much fun as it is to see snow in movies or pictures, maybe drive a couple hours up north to get out and play in it for a bit, it really isn’t a part of my life.

When I make a snow person card, I tend to use brown and make them tumbleweed people. I do have a friend that LOVES snow people, so I generally make a few cards with actual white snowmen and send her family one.  I’d be willing to bet those of you that live where it snows really don’t want most of your winter and Christmas cards to show you MORE snow, too.  (I am so very glad I live in the heat rather than where it snows.)  So, I suggest we make at least a few Christmas cards that are out of the trend of snow and red and green.

I have made a couple of Safari Christmas cards, recently, and wanted to give you an idea of what I mean.

Products Used:

  • White card stock (??)
  • Green card stock (??)
  • Memento Tuxedo Black ink
  • Scissors
  • Guillotine paper cutter
  • Scotch Adhesive: tape runner & 3D mounting
  • Stamp sets all from Gina K. Designs:
    • A Little Something
    • Wild About You
    • Holiday Tags
    • Scooter Diva
    • Seasonal Labels
    • The Good Life
  • Koh-i-Noor woodless coloured pencils
  • Various Gina K. Designs inks: Sweet Mango, Sweet Corn, Grass Green, Kraft, Powder Blue
  • Sponge daubers

To start, I formed my card base, which was 5-1/2″ by 8-1/2″, folded in half.  I also cut a piece of green card stock to 5-3/8″ by 4-1/8″.  Another piece of white card was cut to 5-1/4″ by 4″.  On that smallest piece of white card, I stamped the elephant and tree from the Wild About You set.  That gave me my “safari” background.  On some scraps of white card, I also stamped the little Santa head from the Holiday Tags set, and the trees from The Good Life set.

7-26-16 Blog 1

Using some colored inks (just various Gina K. Designs colors), I stamped the presents from the A Little Something and Scooter Diva sets.  Then, I colored.  I used colored pencils to color in the hat from the Santa head, the large tree from the 2 trees, the elephant and the tree.  Then, I used some sponge daubers to use the listed inks and shade in my background.

7-26-16 Blog 2

I very carefully sponged a bit in the white spaces in the tree and between the elephant’s legs.

Using sharp scissors, I carefully trimmed out the Santa hat, the large tree and the presents (which I had also colored with pencils).  With all my pieces ready to go, I started assembling.  The green layer was adhered to the base card front, with my “safari” panel on top of that.  Just before mounting, I added the sentiment.  Then I used some 3D mounting tape to adhere the hat to the elephant and the “Christmas tree”.  Some of the presents were adhered with tape runner, while others had mounting tape.

7-26-16 Blog 3 STV

Now I have a fun Christmas card with no snow, and not done in the traditional red and green.  In person, you can see all the depth with the tree, hat and presents.

Take the time to try something different with images, than what you usually see.  Here’s another one I did a while ago, that I really like.

10-17-14 SZ Funny

Thanks for spending some of your valuable time with me today.  Go enjoy the rest of your week and remember to think outside the ordinary.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

