Glitter Everywhere

Gina K. Designs had a new release last night.  I wasn’t overly thrilled with the stamp sets that were released – personal preference, not that they aren’t great sets.  However, there are always 2 questions and a challenge with their releases.  I could answer 1 of the questions, but the other I had no clue on.  I refuse to look at other answers, so I just won’t answer that one.  However, the challenge was to make a SPARKLY card.  So, I went about making one.

Products Used:

  • Art from the Heart stamp set (Gina K. Designs)
  • Sparkly black embossing powder (Sparkle n’ Sprinkle)
  • Assorted glitters (Martha Stewart)
  • Stardust pens (Sakura)
  • Embossing heat tool
  • Mini Misti (My Sweet Petunia)
  • Versamark embossing ink
  • Lemon Drop, Turquoise Sea and Layering Weight White card stock (Gina K. Designs)
  • Scotch Advanced Tape Glider
  • Designer Dries Clear Adhesive (Art Glitter) – with detail tip

First, I decided what sentiment I thought would be fun, found 2 images from the set I thought would work great with it, picked out some colors, cut my card stock to size, then went to bed.  I had gotten up early for work, it was 9pm and I knew it would take too long to do, I would probably make mistakes as I was tired, and I had to get up early this morning.  So, after everything was done for the day, I got to work on my card.

I just have to tell you, the Mini Misti was quite expensive.  I did a lot of research on it, thought it was worth it and put it on my wish list.  I showed it to my husband and he told me to go ahead and get it.  Yep, he’s an amazing husband.  I found it on sale, so I purchased it.  This is one of those purchases I am so glad I made.  It is that good.

I had an idea in my head, which is actually what I wound up with in the end.  Now that was a surprise, as there are usually adjustments made as I’m working.

First, I laid out the pieces of card (base was already folded), then laid the stamp on the base, where I thought it looked good.  After I put the magnets in place on the base card, I closed the top of the Misti to pick up the stamp.  As there are lines on the top, I adjusted my stamp slightly to make sure it was straight.  It may not be perfect, but that us user error.  I inked up the sentiment with Versamark ink, closed the top, pressed it down, turned on a bright light to make sure the whole image was stamped, then took it out and poured on my embossing powder.  I went ahead and heated that.

7-29-16 Glitter 1

Next, I put in the white layer, laid out the two images where I wanted them and went through the process again.  Heated those, then removed the flower image, cleaned the pencil stamp and laid it down where I wanted it next.  Embossed that and did it again for the last image.

7-29-16 Glitter 2

Next, I put the detail tip on the bottle of glue and went to work adding adhesive to areas, then laying down a color of glitter.  Went through until I had all the areas done.

7-29-16 Glitter 3

There were a few areas I didn’t get, as they were too fine for the tip and I didn’t want to cover up my sparkly black lines.  For those areas, I went back, after giving it time to dry, and used some similarly colored Stardust pens to fill in.  I definitely cleaned the tips of the pens afterwards.  (Sorry, that picture isn’t as clear as I’d like.)

Then, I put it all together.

7-29-16 Glitter 4

You can’t see the sparkle of the black in the picture, but in real life it has amazing sparkle, too.

I used a Swiffer sweeper cloth to clean up, so there isn’t too much glitter left in the room.  Though, I’m sure I’ll still be finding glitter for weeks.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

