Embossing Fun

This week I had some fun with an embossing stencil, some ink and patterned paper.

Products Used:

  • LL588 Stencil (Dreamweavers Stencils)
  • Inks: Sweet Mango, Blue Lagoon, Applemint (Gina K.)
  • Patterned Paper:  Made With Love pack (Gina K.)
  • Card Stock: Heavy Base Weight white (Gina K.) and White (Recollections)
  • Ribbon: Green Organza (360 – Michael’s)
  • Adhesive Runner (Scotch Advanced Tape Glider)
  • Removable Tape (Scotch)
  • Light Box (Light Tracer by Artograph)

To start, I taped my stencil to a piece of white card with removable tape.

8-13-16 Blog 1

When you flip it over and turn the light table on, you can see right through to trace it with the round embossing tool seen on the table.  Before embossing, rub the card stock with wax paper (it makes it much easier to trace).  Just a hint, if you use really heavy weight card stock, or dark colored card, it is very difficult to see through to trace.

8-13-16 Blog 2

Then I found the papers I wanted to use from my paper pack, chose my ink colors to go with the papers, and started inking my design, with the stencil still attached.  Ink through the stencil.

8-13-16 Blog 3

I did use a touch of red ink for the tongue.  I also used a fine point black pen to color the eyes.  When you remove the stencil, make sure you rinse it with water to clean it off, then dry it well.

8-13-16 Blog 4

After cutting around my embossed image, I cut a strip of the green for behind it.  In the finished card, I layered the green on a strip of white card to offset it a bit, as the 2 patterned papers together was too busy looking.  I did cut close to my embossed and inked image, so you could see the green through around the tail and legs.

8-13-16 Blog 5

I figured out where I wanted the ribbon behind the image piece, then put it on the background patterned paper, before adhering that to the base card.  I stamped the sentiment onto a die cut piece of vellum, then traced it with a teal Stardust Pen to give it a bit more color and some sparkle.  Adhered that to the ribbon with Vellum Adhesive by Therm-o-web.

Inside, I put a small strip of the background patterned paper, crossed by a small piece of the green patterned paper.  The inside sentiment is stamped with Blue Lagoon ink (same as the outside) in the center.

8-13-16 Blog 6

I have embossed and inked this dragon with many colors, but I don’t think any have been as fun as this with the bright colors.  Try doing things a bit different than expected and you might really like what you achieve.

Thanks for spending some time with me today.  Now, go out and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

