Somewhat Contained Glitter

Last weekend, I was trying to think of some Christmas Card ideas, as it is, already, September and I don’t have many done.  So, I thought about butterflies and glitter.  Here’s what I did, for a few.

9-11-16-blog-1

Actually, what I did first, was put some 2-1/2″ double sided adhesive tape on some white card stock.  I just used the cheap kind of card stock.  Then, I took this wonderful die I got at Simon Says Stamp called Butterfly Drift, put it on top of the adhesive backer, which I had left on the top, then ran it through as a regular cut.  I didn’t add any shims, as I didn’t want it to cut all the way through.

9-11-16-blog-2

You can kind of see the cut lines in the above picture.

9-11-16-blog-3

Next, I pulled up the “frame” edge.  I used a paper piercer to start that, though an edge of a paperclip, or something else small and sharp would have worked, too.  I grabbed that and slowly pulled it up, to get all of it.  Then, I opened up my dark green micro-fine glitter.  (This has to be MICRO fine glitter, or it doesn’t work well.)

9-11-16-blog-4

I dabbed my finger in and using just what was on my finger, started rubbing firmly over the adhesive that was now showing.

9-11-16-blog-5

As you can see, there’s not much extra glitter left on the top of the adhesive liner.

9-11-16-blog-6

Then I used that little piece of Swiffer Sweeper cloth, that I had cut off and wiped up the excess glitter.  There wasn’t much.  Quick and easy cleanup, that way.

9-11-16-blog-7

Next, I pulled the liner off the butterflies and rubbed on gold micro-fine glitter.  Cleaned up the bit of excess glitter with another small piece of Swiffer Sweeper cloth.  I decided I didn’t want the whole piece of adhesive, as that would take too much room, so I just used my scissors and cut around the butterflies.  I used a craft knife to get that one small center piece out, too.

On the side of my card base, I used gold embossing powder and embossed my “Merry Christmas” greeting.  It didn’t show up very well against my stamped background, so I found a piece of similar green paper, embossed it on there, and adhered that.

9-11-16-blog-8

Done.  Fairly quick and easy.  And, the glitter doesn’t fall off, as it is quite well adhered.  Also, when I was wiping off the little bit of excess glitter, I went over my piece, as well, which picked up any extra.

Thanks for spending some time with me today.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

