Foilin’ – Part 2

So, you can always add foil to a project through something you probably have around your house, aluminum foil.  Now, you are better off using the heavy duty foil, if you have it, but I didn’t, so I just used the regular kind.

I stamped on it with StazOn ink, which worked fine.  I also used Versamark ink and then heat embossed it, which worked quite well.  I then colored my images using alcohol markers.  I used the Spectrum Noir, as that is what I have, but any would work.

Aluminum Foil 1

It is a very slick surface, so you need to be careful not to let your stamp move around.  Also, if you use StazOn ink, make sure you clean your stamp right away.  I used a baby wipe, which got it very clean.

Aluminum Foil 2

For the piece I did in an embossing folder, I folded it in thirds, to give it some weight.  I should have adhered the layers together before running it through the Cuttlebug in the folder, but it still worked.  I used a little liquid adhesive between the layers (I just did the last “flap”), lightly pressed it down, and it was great.

You can also use dies with aluminum foil and cut out shapes.  For that, I would definitely use the heavy duty foil, or make sure you have thoroughly adhered a few layers together before trying it.  However, I just used some scissors to cut out my cute little dogs.

Here is what I came up with.  The sentiment is a strip of kraft card that I stamped on and used liquid adhesive to adhere on top of my embossed panel.  I didn’t want to use too much pressure on it, which is why I used liquid adhesive.  I adhered the little dogs with the liquid adhesive, as well.

Aluminum Foil Example

Foil can give a fun look to your cards and there are so many different things you can do with it.  Try it, you’ll probably be quite please with what you come up with.  Do remember, it is a very slick surface, so you’ll need to use a heat tool to help dry your ink, or wait a while.  Also, think about trying to wrap something in foil, it rips easily, so don’t be surprised if you get cuts in it, even just from the embossing.  It’s fairly inexpensive, so something you can play with a bit until you figure it out.

Thanks for spending some of your valuable time with me today.  Have a most wonderful rest of your week.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

