Heat Embossing in Color

One of the challenges at SpeedyTV was to use heat embossing.  That is easy enough.  There is another challenge at StampTV to use bright pink.  Hmmm, that sounded like a good one to put together.

I used Passionate Pink layering weight card stock for the bright pink on a layer of Innocent Pink layering weight card stock, then embossed with pink embossing powder.  The flower is from the stamp set “A Year Of Flowers” illustrated by Melanie Muenchinger.  The sentiment is from the “Elegant Post” set illustrated by Nina Brackett.  The ribbon is some from the Holiday Noel set by Celebrate It.  To make the card, I cut a piece of Passionate Pink to 4″ by 5 1/4″ and then used VersaMark ink to stamp the flower all over it and emboss with the pink embossing powder.  I took a small piece of the same color card and embossed the sentiment and another flower.  I cut out the flower and cut down between the petals so I could add some shape.  The sentiment was layered on white and then cut around.  Then I adhered it all together.  I like the look of the light pink on the bright pink for this one.

Well, I have been wanting to use my glow-in-the-dark embossing powder and I thought it would work really well for eyes on black card stock.  Couldn’t think of quite how I wanted to do that, so I used some dark green and stamped two different sizes of dragonflies with VersaMark ink and used my fun embossing powder.  I thought this would work better, but the textured green card stock I used wasn’t quite right for stamping on, and I figured the embossing powder would show up the slightly yellowish/greenish color.  Nope.  This is what I wound up with.

You can slightly see the dragonflies and you can read the sentiment if you look at it straight on.  At an angle, parts of the sentiment don’t really show up well.  Oh well, now I know.  The dragonflies look great in the dark, but then you can’t see the sentiment.  How best to use this embossing powder is going to take some more thought.  Did have fun making the cards, though.  And, it goes with a different challenge at StampTV for making a card that stands up by itself.  Well, it was supposed to be an easel card, but I wanted to switch it up a bit.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

14 thoughts on “Heat Embossing in Color”

  1. Golda glad to see your cards on all the challenges at STV. I love this pink card and your embossing is lovely!!!
    Thanks for joining this week at Tutorial Time!!!
    Hugs

    Like

  2. Great technique. Love that pink card, Golda.
    Come on over to my blog this week. I have a project with tutorial and a blog hop I am participating in for The Outlawz.
    Blessing hugs,
    Teresa

    Like

  3. Two beautiful cards. I love the colors on both. Great job on the tutorial. Thanks for trying the Tutorial Time on SpeedyTV technique and joining the fun. We hope to see you again next week.

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!