A Few Cards

My husband is amazing and got a Silhouette Cameo for me for Christmas this year.  What was really funny was that my father-in-law said that he had been trying to figure out how to get a Cricut for me for a couple of years, but couldn’t quite figure it out, but it sounded like Rob (my husband) had gotten me something even better.  When I was talking to my mom the day after Christmas, she said that my dad had wanted to get the Silhouette for me for Christmas, but she figured Rob probably would, so she was glad she was right.  I think it’s pretty funny they all had the same idea.  Hmmm, guess that tells you a bit about me, too.  Yes, I really am into making cards and fun things.

The past couple of days, I have been watching all sorts of videos and trying to figure out how to get the machine to do what I know it can and want it to.  My first attempt was not successful.  I know I need to watch more tutorials and figure it out, but last night was not a good night and today I just wanted to do something profitable.  So, this afternoon, I went back to StampTV and remembered that I had some ideas for the 4 challenges they have for this week.  I had gotten one done earlier, but I did the other three today and wanted to share them all with you.

12-24-13 STV13MODDYCHRISTMAS1

This first one was for an inspiration challenge that was a Christmas picture with lots of red and gold with sparkle.

12-29-13 STV13MODDYCHRISTMAS2

This second one was to use a die cut or punch AND the reverse for two different cards.  I used some fun tan and white snowflake paper by Gina K. and then did a lot of embossing.  It doesn’t look like the embossing is white, but it really is very white.  I did use some fun black sparkle embossing powder for the sentiment on the die cut snowflake.  I love the Moroccan Accent die from Spellbinders for snowflakes.

12-29-13 STV13MODDYCHRISTMAS3

This third one was a CAS (Clean And Simple) Christmas card.  I used one frame and a sentiment, then used a couple of Stardust pens to make them shine.  Can’t get much more CAS than that, but oh how it sparkles.

12-29-13 STV13MODDYCHRISTMAS4

 

This fourth one was a sketch challenge.  We were given 3 different sketches to choose from and then had to make a Christmas thank you card.  I  thought these two S.E.I. papers that I had went wonderfully together and would make a fun card.  My idea was to do a tri-fold card, so I did, then added a flap on top.  The 3 snowflakes were my first attempt at cutting using my Silhouette Cameo.  They weren’t real clean and I didn’t get them off the mat very well, but I was able to salvage them for this.  They really went well with the papers, as did the fun embossing powder I used.  This one is on its way to my folks, as turquoise is my mom’s favorite, too.

Thanks for spending some time with me today!  I hope you had a wonderful celebration of God’s coming to earth as a man this year.  Now, it’s back to work and regular life for me.  I look forward to sharing a bit more of my life with you in the coming year.  Thanks for your support of me this past year.  However, no one answered my question about chestnuts.  Anyone have an answer for me?

Have a wonderful New Year celebration this week!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

4 thoughts on “A Few Cards”

Thanks for leaving a comment!

