Double Embossing

I saw an article in Cardmaking & Papercraft magazine issue 170 about Double Embossing.  It looks easy and beautiful, but wasn’t so easy to make it look great.

Here was an attempt with the way the magazine showed.

First you emboss with an embossing folder, then rub a Versamark across the top lightly, add some embossing powder on top, then heat.

Next I tried using an embossing pen on the embossed area before adding the embossing powder and heating.  Did this a section at a time.

Okay, I gave the initial attempt another try, as try number 2 took WAY too long.

I still wasn’t thrilled with all the excess powder, but my husband loved the look of it.

Now, I saw Jennifer McGuire Ink to a post on covering a whole sheet with a double layer of embossing powder.  In that you run an embossing ink over a sheet of card, cover with embossing powder and heat, then do it again over the top.  After that, you use your embossing ink to stamp on top of it and emboss using a different color of embossing powder.  The second image is supposed to sink down into the first embossed piece.

This didn’t show the detail of the stamped image, but that could have been the cheap stamp that I used.  I do like the look of it.  And, it didn’t take too much red embossing powder to make the “background” as you would think.

So, a couple of fun ways to use embossing on embossing to get a different look.  Try one and see what you think.

Thanks for spending some time with me today.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!