Shifting Star Teabag Fold

Here is another teabag fold or Kaleidoscope Origami pattern called Shifting Star.  Well, I’ve found that many of the different patterns have the same name or are very similar, but folded slightly differently.  Hope you enjoy it.

You want to start with eight 1-7/8″ squares.  Wrong side up.  I cut some wrapping paper into squares.  Because of their slickness, not all of my squares are perfectly square, but close enough.

Fold your square in half horizontally, then unfold.  Along the left edge, fold the top corner down along the horizontal fold line, then the bottom corner up along the horizontal fold line.

After both those corners are folded in, refold in half horizontally with the open edge along the bottom.  Then take the upper right corner (folded edge) and fold down along the bottom (open) edge and unfold.

You will then open the piece slightly so you can fold that corner down inside.  Do the same for the other seven squares.


To put the pieces together, you will put the front corner inside that back folded edge you just made.  To attach, you will fold the front and back pieces that stick up over and into the back folded down section on the piece you just laid inside.

         

Do the same until all eight pieces are folded together.  It is a bit tricky to get the last piece into place and attached.  You will probably have a few of those little folds come untucked and have to re-tuck them.  You will need to slide the pieces together a bit so the center is tight.

The above photo is the way you just put them together.  The below photo is the back side.

I hope you enjoyed this fold.  Thanks for spending some time with me today!  Don’t forget, I’m going to be part of a blog hop on Wednesday that leads to the online card crop at CardMaker Magazine’s CardSwap.  I hope you join us for that!

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

2 thoughts on “Shifting Star Teabag Fold”

  1. It kind of reminds me of folding napkins at the Chinese restaurant where I used to work. I don’t know if I will ever get this, but I have a feeling you are going to be challenging us with a technique like this for the big crop next week. Maybe I should start practising. 😉

    Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!